Home of a mother, wife, writer

Getting to this a little earlier this week. Since I decided to set further revisions on Chasing the Ghost aside until next month, I have more time to focus on new writing. So, I raised my daily goal from 3k to 5k. And that I split in half, so I write the first 2500 first thing. Then, I’ll get chores and blog reading/writing, email, goodreads, pinterest stuff done. Then, I’ll write the other half of my words before I worry about fixing dinner/crafting(which I’ve gotten none done yet this week). This seems to be working well for me so far this week. Of course, we’re only 2.5 days into the new routine.

It also helps that I was awake at 3 this morning(ok, 2:30, but I didn’t get out of bed until 3). So, I had an extra hour+ to get some words done. I made my first goal before 7:30. It’s a little more than an hour later and I have almost all chores done(waiting for laundry to be done in washer to throw it in dryer then fold it). So, here I am working on my blog post.

It’s Wednesday, so time for another snippet from Some Fools Never Learn. I’m a little more than halfway through this. So, still hoping I’ll be able to finish the first draft next week. For today, I have 11 paragraphs+a bonus sentence at the beginning. For context: They’re at Nolan’s(1 of Tate’s younger brothers) wedding. Jess(Tate’s sister) is talking to Emilia. She’s the second youngest, and about 15 years younger than Tate.

“I came to talk to you, though.”
“About what?” The tone in her voice put Emilia’s nerves on edge. She didn’t understand it, she’d never done anything to the other woman. So, why did it feel like Jess was poised to attack.
“My brother.”
“You may want to be more specific. Or do I get to choose between them?”
She’d meant it as a joke, but since Jess’s face pulled tighter into a scowl, it obviously hadn’t gone over well.”
“You know perfectly well just which one I meant. And you’d better not be trying to go after any of the others, either. Nolan and Jace are taken. And Kelan’s dealing with his own shit. You need to-”
Emilia held out her hands. “I was joking, Jess. I’m not like that. I don’t know what gave you the idea I might be.”
“She was. Still is, the cold manipulative bitch.”
Emilia narrowed her eyes then it came to her. “You’re talking about his ex-wife.”
“So, he has told you about her.”
“Some,” she admitted. “He told me she cheated. And I know she dug her claws deep into her. If you think I’m like that-”
“I don’t know, do I? All I know is he’s getting awfully wrapped up in you. Rebekah is the only one who’s ever done that to him before. And I don’t want to see him get jerked around again. I want to like you, because it’s obvious he does. But, I’m not a little kid this time. I don’t have to just stand around when I see someone hurting him.”

Also, yesterday this happened:

Screenshot (11)

This is the fastest I’ve ever finished NaNo. 17 days, with only 12 of those actual writing days. Last year it took me 19 days, with 15 writing days. I’m still going, of course. And can’t officially “win” until Friday. But, still exciting.

  • Some Fools Never Learn – add 25000 words(this will get me close to 60k) – 12832/25000. Making good progress
  • Come Back Down – add 1000 words – weekend project. Also, got good news about Into the Sun, which this is the sequel to.
  • Read: Gotta Read It – get to 75% – through 65%
  • Read: Prodigy, Crown of Midnight(Sarah J Maas), Lover Eternal(J.R. Ward), & The Emerald Isle Trilogy(Renee Vincent) – finished Prodigy Sunday night. Really enjoyed it, though the beginning felt a little slow. But, the ending…gah. can’t wait until I can pick up the last book(yes, I know it’s out. No, I don’t want to pay $9.99 for the kindle version, no matter how much I want to read it). I’m about 75% through Crown of Midnight and can’t wait to finish the rest of my stuff so I can get back to it.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – Strip 22 – Haven’t worked on this at all this week.
  • Loom: Hat – Weekend project

More red than I’d like there, but hopefully by Sunday it will be mostly blue.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: New Routine" (23)

  1. WOWZERS! Done with NaNo already? Way to go!

  2. That was a very intense discussion. Reminds of my brother’s ex when she used to joke around with me. I seriously did not like that either. Now that I am grown, I made sure people know that I’m not going to stand around and watch my younger brother get hurt. Congrats on technically completing nano. WOOT! WOOT!

    You was up pretty early. Do you still have that energy? I’d probably have crashed by this time.

  3. I’ve got more red than I like this time around, too. I think it’s more or less inevitable, when the focus is on the writing…I’ve got one scene left to write.

    You’ve decided me: I’ll be going through some email tonight, to see whether I also have good news there…

    Congratulations on the NaNo win!

    I’m liking the tensions in this story, and I hope Tate and Emilia will find the kind of HEA he wanted the first time around….

    • Yes, some things definitely fall away when the writing takes over.
      I hope you got some good news, too.
      Thank you
      They are certainly working toward that.

      • I got good news! =)

        Now I need to go reread the story, because I submitted it in January, and haven’t looked at it since. I had planned to try to add installments so that it would be a novella, but life kind of got away from me this year. I do plan to submit more than one next year, though, as well as branching out at least a bit…

        See you between the covers – I mean, in the anthology…

        *grins a little awkwardly*

      • Yay for good news!
        Haha! Good to be sharing the page with you again.

  4. AWESOME ABOUT WINNING, and so soon! I’ve never made it that fast. I think my earliest was around the 24thish.

    I liked the snippet. Very intriguing.

    Ooh, Love Eternal! You will love it. It’s an amazing story.

  5. Congrats on finishing NaNo! That was really fast.

    This is such an intense scene. It reminds me a lot of when my brother went to my sister’s (now ex) boyfriend to warn him not to hurt her. (Let’s just say he didn’t listen…I hope your characters have a happier ending!)

    • Thanks!
      Emilia certainly doesn’t plan to hurt him. They’re working toward that ending though they have a little more to go through before they reach happy. 🙂

  6. *throws confetti* *pops champagne* Hurray to finishing NaNo!!!!!!!!!!

    Go sista!! Siblings can get awfully protective, can’t they. She sounds very intense and if I was Emilia, I’d be a bit nervous.

    • Thanks! *brushes some confetti out of her hair*
      They certainly can. Intense is one way to describe Jess. They’ll come to an understanding, though.

  7. I love seeing the sister be the protective one! That’s awesome!!!!

    Congrats on finishing NaNO!

  8. You finished already? Man, you really rocked NaNo! That’s just awesome! And I loved the little snippet.

  9. It’s looking good for you to reach your goals. Just one question: how do you weave a hat? What kind of loom are you using?

  10. And they say brothers are defensive. 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

