Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “All This Time”

Welcome to another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors, the weekly hop for everyone who loves to write. I’m still sharing from Into the Sun(which I have news about). This starts directly after last week’s snippet.

   ”Grady.” His name came out in barely more than a whisper.
“Cassie. I wondered if you’d recognize me after all this time.”
She looked from him to me then brought her gaze back to Birdie. I could see her mind working, trying to fit the pieces together. “She’s yours?” she asked, looking back toward Icarus.
“I raised her,” he said softly. “She’ll always be mine, even if she refuses to see that anymore.”

What’s Cassie going to do now that she knows who he is? Are her and Birdie going to get along? I’ll have a little more next week. And probably the week after.

And, as for that news: Into the Sun was chosen as the novella to be included with 9 other short stories in this year’s volume of the World Unknown Review(this is last year’s volume, which I also have a short story in). I had two other submissions in, but neither of them were accepted. I may end up fixing them up and doing something with them down the line. But, I’m excited this one made it in. It should be out around 12/15, so you’ll be able to read the full story then.

I finished the first chapter of the sequel this morning, so that’s going well.

 

 

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “All This Time”" (13)

  1. I think that this is the first I’ve read this, Fallon. It’s beautiful. I was caught up in the moment. Nicely done!

    No snippet for me this week.

    Happy thanksgiving week. 🙂

  2. Excellent dynamics Fallon. I can feel the tension!

  3. This is the first time I have read your work, but the snippet conveyed to me a gentleness and tenderness between the characters.

  4. Congratulations on getting the story into an anthology, Fallon!

  5. Congratulations on the story being selected for the anthology! Enjoyed the snippet, lots of emotions hiding behind the words 🙂

  6. Congrats on the new publication cred! The story seems very interesting. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next. Family drama can be its own special kind of terrible. 🙂

  7. […] back to words. Still sharing from Into the Sun. This week’s snippet picks up right where last week’s left off. 8 sentences. We’ve got Birdie, Icarus, and Cassie speaking in this […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

