Home of a mother, wife, writer

High enough for you?”

Isaac turned from the art supplies he was sorting at the back of the room. And burst out laughing. “Konner, put your shirt down. That is not the kind of model we’re using for this class.”

His ex-boyfriend, and still current best friend, let the hem of his t-shirt drop back down. “Well, it’s good to see you laugh again at least. Its been too long. Ever since he came back to town.”

“It hasn’t even been a week,” Isaac argued. “And Tereza said he’s not in town. It was just for the weekend. He’s staying at some rehab hospital.” His stomach did a hard twist at the reason for that.

“So, that’s it? He’s not coming back.”

“I don’t know, ” Isaac admitted. “She said it’s not far away. He might come around on the weekends, but he has to have someone pick him up, so it depends.”

“He can’t drive?”

“Not without his right leg.” He dropped the paint brush he’d just picked up and pressed the heels of his hands against his eyes as he swore.

Then Konner was there, an arm around Isaac’s shoulders. “It’s okay, ” he said. “He’s still alive. He can adapt.”

“I don’t want him to have to adapt. I don’t want him to have to hurt like this.” He rubbed the moisture from his face. “Why am I so stupid to still love him?”

Low, Isaac,” Jonas’ voice came from the doorway behind him. “You broke up with me. And while you’re in another man’s arms, you claim to still love me. That’s just really low.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was to use High/Low somewhere in your post. And the first line popped into my head. I took it from there. What’s going to happen here next? Will Jonas be the one to walk away this time? Will these two boys ever make things right between them again?

Confession time: I actually wrote this last night on my phone while going to get groceries(no, I wasn’t driving) because I didn’t want to lose the idea, and we have a busy day today(vet, motorcycle ride & after party then baking cake & zucchini bread for daughter’s party tomorrow). So I wanted to get it done.

Comments on: "Stream Of Consciousness Saturday: High/Low" (7)

  1. Your story really pulls me in, especially the ending. Love can be so complicated, and so beautiful.

    • Thanks, I’m really loving these two(well, and Konner, too, but he’ll be getting his own story eventually). And they’ll get there.

  2. I enjoyed reading this. Love can be complicated.

  3. Nice writing with the prompts, you used them well. 🙂

  4. […] any way we wanted. So, of course, the first line popped into my head. This would come right after last week’s. I didn’t expect it to go so wrong, though. Ah well, I’ll eventually bring them back […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.