Home of a mother, wife, writer

Guess you must be Jonas, then.”

Isaac watched Jonas’ gaze shift beyond him to Konner. “What gave you the first clue?”

Isaac twisted his head and saw Konner grinning. Of course. Very little kept him from doing that. No matter how rude someone got, Konner just kept grinning away. It had a tendency to disarm people.

“Well, you did basically just announce it,” he said. “And you look a lot like your older brother, so that doesn’t hurt.” He looked back to Isaac. “I get it now.”

“Get what?” Jonas asked, but Konner kept his gaze on Isaac.

“Why you still haven’t been able to get over him. It bothered me back when we were dating, but I get it now. He’s a fine specimen. And all that emotion simmering under the surface. Yeah, I get it.”

Isaac caught a flush of color in Jonas’ dark cheeks, but he turned away. Isaac just shook his head at Konner, who chuckled and moved away. Isaac faced Jonas then. “What are you doing here? I didn’t think you’d want to see me. Tereza said you’re living at that center near the base.” Which had at least meant some distance. Even if it was only about a half hour drive.

“Yeah. Not for much longer, though.” His jaw tightened, and he looked away. There was pain in that gesture, and it hurt Isaac, too. But, he didn’t say anything. What could he say? If the Army was moving him somewhere else, it wasn’t like he could do anything about it.

“You want to sit or something?” Isaac asked. He didn’t think keeping himself up on those crutches could be that comfortable.”

“I’m fine,” Jonas said, though his jaw was still tight. “Toby came to bring me home for the weekend,” he said. “He told me, Isaac.”

“Told you what?” He kept his gaze on the floor. He wanted to look Jonas in the face, but it hurt. Not just seeing the scars there, but the pain that was evident in the rigid line of his jaw and in those dark eyes he’d always loved looking into.

“About your dad. That he’s about to be released. Are you okay?”

Isaac’s head snapped up at that. “That’s why you’re here? The only reason you’d come to see me is because you think I’m falling apart because my asshole father is getting out of jail.”

“I was worried about you,” Jonas said.

“Well, don’t be. I’ve got it handled. There are people who never left me who will stand around me.”

“You broke up with me,” Jonas reminded him. Like he really needed to.

“Because you were already planning to leave. Why don’t you just go back and do your soldier thing.”

“I can’t,” Jonas said then that jaw went tight again. “Never mind. I don’t know why I bothered to come. No matter what your boyfriend said, you obviously moved on a long time ago. You’re right. You don’t need me worrying about you.”

Isaac didn’t say a word as Jonas turned and used his crutches to move out of the room. No matter how much he wanted to call him back, what was the point? They’d only keep hurting each other. Konner came over to stand in front of him again. “Damn, but you’re an idiot, friend.”

Guess so,” Isaac muttered.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, that didn’t go too well. 😉 This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was to use ‘guess’ any way we wanted. So, of course, the first line popped into my head. This would come right after last week’s. I didn’t expect it to go so wrong, though. Ah well, I’ll eventually bring them back together.

 

Comments on: "Stream of Consciousness: “Guess”" (7)

  1. Guess a whole story came out of that prompt!

  2. […] Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday, SOCS, WeWriWa, & Sunday Summary posts each week – 5/5 for this week once this one […]

  3. […] Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday(Cover for Staring at the Sun), SOCS(some of Jonas & Isaac’s story), WeWriWa(a bit of Hawk’s Story), & Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

