Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’ve got a busy weekend ahead of me. We have to take the dogs into the vet this morning(Saturday). Then our motorcycle club is having their annual ride benefitting the oncology department at a local hospital. We’ll be helping out before the ride and then there’s the after party. And when we get home, I need to bake a cake and zucchini bread for my daughter’s birthday party tomorrow. Then, there’s all the getting ready for people to be in my house tomorrow. I don’t care if they’re family, they are still people. In my house. *shudder*

Anyway, you’re not here for social awkwardness. I have another snippet from Hawk’s story for you. Last week, I left them finding shelter somewhere that has memories. This week, they have found that shelter and both are remembering what happened the last time they were there:

I walked over to where Devil sat on an over-turned crate. He gave me a little smirk as I approached. Yeah, he remembered this place, too. “I’m guessing we won’t be passing the time the same way we did last time, until the rain stopped.”

I couldn’t hold in my laugh, then I had to go and ruin it by saying, “At least you won’t spend the next several days avoiding me.”

His face flushed, and he dropped his gaze. Damn it. We’d made a lot of progress over the last few months, but sometimes I still felt like I was walking through a minefield with him. I slid a finger under his chin and tipped his head back. “I only meant it as a joke,” I said, “not to hurt you.”

How did they spend the time before? Why did Devil avoid him? What are they going to do this time?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Through a Minefield”" (12)

  1. It’s cool the way you’ve give us enough hints of past events without having to tell us.

  2. nancygideon said:

    What a tender scene, Fallon. It really packs an emotional punch.

  3. I hope his comment doesn’t mess things up, there seems to be a tenderness and intimacy between them. Great snippet!

  4. So many emotional ups and downs. A minefield indeed, but worth the risk.

  5. Another lovely and insightful moment with these characters of whom I’m very fond now. Great snippet!

  6. Diane Burton said:

    Nice snippet. Their previous time in the cave? Lovin’ or fightin’?

    • Well, it’s more of an old barn, that looks in worse shape than it actually is. And it was definitely more on the “lovin'” side the last time. 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

