Home of a mother, wife, writer

“Flowers.”

Carolyne didn’t even look away from the invoice she was compiling on her computer. “Yes. That’s what I sell here. It is a flower shop.”

The man who had just stepped into the shop let out a weak laugh. “Right. Of course.”

She looked up at the man, then. He was tall, and wide. She could picture him thundering down the football field. She had seen it, too, back during high school. “Chris. What can I do for you?”

“Flowers. I really think I need some flowers.”

She watched as he scrubbed a hand over his face then ran it up into his thick dark hair. And she couldn’t help but smile and lean against her side of the counter. “How bad did you screw up?”

“Bad,” he said. “I think really, really bad. Roses aren’t going to cut it. Not with those two.”

Carolyne didn’t react to that last part. She’d seen him around with both Reagen and her girlfriend. And their relationship was none of her business. Except when he’d apparently screwed things up. “Roses never cut it. Not when it’s really important. Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was to start with a noun. I will be writing Chris’ story sometime soon. It’s not the next one on my list in the series, but I think it will be the one after that. And this might be how I introduce Carolyn into the series. I wrote about her in a Story a Day piece last month, Flower Shop, as well as a couple others that month.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.