Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today’s Story a Day prompt was to write a story in which the reader only hears one side of the conversation. I also combined it with a dialogue prompt I found on pinterest: “If we get arrested, it’s your fault”.

I haven’t started planning Neil’s story yet, but I’ve got some ideas. This may just happen during it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“If we get arrested, it’s your fault.”
Neil came to a stop on the sidewalk. He’d been heading to his sister’s apartment, but those words made him pause. Neil looked around, trying to find the source of the statement. But, there was more than one person talking on the phone.
Then, the voice said, “I’m serious.” But, it was followed by a laugh. “No, I won’t take the fall for you. Seriously, do you think I’d survive in prison? I’d totally take the first deal to squeal on you.”
Neil didn’t usually eavesdrop on conversations he heard in public. But, this was one he couldn’t ignore. If someone was planning a crime…
That laugh burst out again, and he almost forgot about his civic responsibilities. That laugh made him want to do more than just stop a crime in progress. The sidewalk had mostly cleared as he neared his sister’s apartment, but that voice still came from in front of him.
“No, I don’t think it’s a good idea. It’s really not. Her dad already hates you. And she’s related to like two dozen cops. I’d say it’s a really bad idea.”
That had Neil freezing again. He was related to a whole bunch of cops, his dad one of them. And he knew one person his dad not quite hated but certainly didn’t have a whole lot of trust in.
“I didn’t say I wouldn’t help you, Silas, just that it’s not a good idea. I’m almost to your apartment now. I’m sure we can come up with a much better plan.”
Neil burst out laughing then moved ahead of the other person to open the door of the apartment building just as they hung up the phone. “It seems we have the same destination. Though it sounds like my sister isn’t home.”

Comments on: "Fiction Friday/Story a Day: Day 18 – “Arrested”" (2)

  1. […] links back to a story I wrote last month, Arrested. Silas is in a relationship with Corrin and Jeremiah(their story was written in Playing with Fire). […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.