Home of a mother, wife, writer

“Don’t give me any of that. You aren’t leaving.”

“I have to, Bull. Don’t you see? It’s the only answer here. If I’m not here, Henry can’t come after the whole club. He can’t use it as a way to get to me. To get to Cassie and Trace through me. I have to go.”

“No, you don’t. That’s why we’re doing this. We’ll get him to leave us alone.”

Icarus smacked his hand against the wall. “It’s not just Henry. Me being here has brought trouble to everyone I care about. With Henry taking Birdie, and coming after Cassie and Trace. The Crows coming after Birdie and Trace. Even Devil and Hawk getting hurt.”

“That didn’t have anything to do with you, Icarus,” Bull argued.

“You go back far enough, and it does. I let Brad in here, I didn’t see through his lies. And that gave him the opening to get deep with the Crows and take them down. And with our connection to him, it led them back to us. If it wasn’t for me-”

“If it wasn’t for you, this club would have fallen apart long ago. I can’t believe you can’t see that. Dad might be the president, but you are this club, Icarus. You quit and you might as well disband the club.”

Icarus shook his head. “That’s ridiculous. The club isn’t just one person. We all make it work. I didn’t say I’m definitely going. But, if that’s what it takes to make sure my family is protected, it’s what I’m going to do.”

“Let’s take care of this business with Henry first,” Bull said, his voice subdued now. “Then, I’ll convince you you’re better off staying.”

Icarus let out a rough laugh. If only it would be that easy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I almost didn’t write anything for this week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt of “give/given/giving” then the start of this conversation popped into my head while we were grocery shopping. This will end up being part of my Q post for the A-Z challenge as well(which I’m currently in the middle of drafting).

Comments on: "Stream of Consciousness Saturday: “Give”" (1)

  1. […] posts: Draft 13 posts – 3/13 finished. 1984 words. Q in progress. 101 words & my SOCS post will fit in for that one. So once I copy that over, that one will mostly be […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.