Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today’s Story a Day prompt was to choose a detail that only your character would notice in this story. I picked Carolyne from Flower Shop, though the story actually ended up being from Maeve’s POV.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Someone took some of those flowers.”
Maeve looked in the direction Carolyne was pointing. “What are you talking about? I don’t see anything.”
Carolyn pulled away and crouched down in front of the planted display near the corner of the sidewalk. There were plenty of them scattered around town. “I planted these,” Carolyne said after a moment. “I picked out the flowers, designed each of the spaces, and planted the flowers myself. Well, I had some help with the planting, but the rest I did myself.” She ran her finger over two partial stems in the middle of the rest.
Maeve hadn’t noticed that detail before. They’d been in the middle of a conversation, so she wasn’t sure how Carolyne had even noticed it. Although it didn’t surprise her too much. When it came to flowers, Carolyne seemed to notice everything. “Who do you think took them?” she asked.
Carolyne shook her head then straightened back up and reached out for Maeve’s hand again. “I guess it doesn’t really matter. Maybe someone wanted them for their sweetheart. If so, they gave their life for a good cause.”
Maeve smiled at that. Carolyne certainly did have a different way of looking at the world. Nothing was ever too bad for her to smile about it.
Maeve wished she could be that easy-going about things. But, she’d soak in Carolyne’s sunshine as long as she could.

Comments on: "Story a Day: Day 23 – “Noticed”" (1)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.