Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back for Day 18 of Just Jot It January. This one is coming late again. Not because I didn’t put it on my to-do list. But, because I spent a lot of the day editing. I’m getting to the final stage before the MS is ready to send to my critique partner. It’s the one that seems to take the longest, just because it the most monotonous. Using the search function, I find all the crap/filter words I use. Not the most exciting stage of writing, but it’s necessary, too.

Anyway, today’s prompt is Elegance, brought to us by Kelli at Forty, c’est Fantastique.

Elegance isn’t a word anyone’s ever used to describe me. Not even during the 5-ish years I spent dancing ballet as a young child. In fact, I was far from it. Always a step behind everyone else and likely to trip over my own feet.

None of that has changed since I stopped dancing at 8 years old. I’ve never quite seemed to be able to figure out what to do with my body. Never quite felt that I’ve outgrown that awkwardness. I’m still likely to trip over my own two feet.

I’m not an elegant dresser, either. I’m much more comfortable in jeans and a t-shirt(and hooded sweatshirt when it’s cold). I don’t even own all that many pairs of shoes. Most of those are tennis shoes. I have 1 pair of sneakers, a pair of running shoes, and my winter boots out right now. I have some dressier shoes, but most of the time, I wear them under duress. 😉

My language isn’t all that elegant, either. I don’t talk fancy, or use big words just to impress people. Though, my sister yelled at me once when I used the word “culprit” because it was a “big word”. Of course, I think I was in fourth or fifth grade at the time(and she was 3 years older than me). I tend to swear more than I should. And I don’t often turn on my internal filter. Which isn’t always a good thing when you have two small kids who are sponges.

 

Comments on: "JusJoJan: Day 18 – Elegance" (2)

  1. Well, I admit that I put my post up later than you did, and it was my word 🙂 Editing a book, wow! I think that is its own kind of elegance. I don’t even have a good reason for mine being late! That’s funny, to get chastised for saying “culprit.” Kids 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.