Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to Day 19 of Just Jot It January. Today’s prompt is Climate, brought to us by Joanne. This is actually kind of fitting for how my day started. Although, I suppose, technically that’s more weather than climate. But, still.

I woke up about four thirty this morning. Yeah, I hear it now. But, that’s actually not too early for me. Planned to go out and start my coffee then get some writing done before the kids woke up. I went to turn the water on and…nothing. Sometimes our hot water freezes in the winter, and we can put the heater to it in the house and get it going again. Well, I tried the cold water, too, and still…nothing.

And, of course, my husband had been out plowing since late Sunday night, and he still wasn’t home. So, I was going to have to take care of it myself. I’ve never had to before, so I sent him a text asking what I needed to do. After a quick call, I had a plan.

Of course, I hadn’t shoveled out the whole walk way between our house and garage when we got dumped on last week. And guess where I needed to get into? Yep. Where some of that snow had frozen over. It took me about 45 minutes just to clear the ice out, then I had to pull away the skirting so I could get to where it usually freezes. Had on coveralls, boots, gloves and everything. And still my toes and fingers were freezing soon. But I kept a hair dryer blowing on it for about an hour. This is the only thing we use a hair dryer for in our house, really. We have a heat gun somewhere in the garage, which probably would have been better, except I couldn’t find it. And several torches my husband said would do even better, but using them makes me nervous. After an hour, I took out an electric heater and had it pointing at it(with an extension cord to the garage).

My husband got home a little after 10:30 and by 11, we finally had water again. So, all my attempts didn’t do much good. We can just say I started to thaw it, though, right? And thankfully, no pipes burst.

Now, I just have to remember to keep some water trickling through from now on. Or at least until it warms up again.

Comments on: "JusJoJan: Day 19 – Climate" (5)

  1. Morgaine620 said:

    Sorry to hear about your trouble. But at least you had some warm water later on. I’m impressed. Not sure I could have handled that πŸ™‚

  2. Good for you for fixing it yourself! πŸ™‚ Hope you don’t have that trouble again.

  3. Thanks for the pingback! Glad you got your water back – and you definitely got the thawing started!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

