Home of a mother, wife, writer

Back to the regularly scheduled Monday program this week. 🙂

First, I have a post from Writers Helping Writers in the emotional wounds series. This one is on Accidentally killing someone, but there are some other good ones, too.

And a post from Rachel Aaron on The Not-So-Secret Formula to Writing Character Driven Stories. My stories almost always start with the characters. I might have some idea what the plot will be as well, but this usually doesn’t develop until after I have the characters at least mostly figured out.

And from Ginger and Books, a post on building character maps. This is something I really need to think about doing. There are a lot of connections between characters in my stories/series. Sometimes it can get a little confusing, even to me. 🙂 I haven’t tried out scapple yet, but I might look into it. I do have family trees set up for two of my series. Can’t really use it for my Kurztown series, as most of them aren’t actually related. I’ve also started using Aeon Timeline again, so that helps with which characters are connected with which events/books. But, not necessarily with the connections between characters.

That’s it for this week. I’ll have more for you next Monday. Have you read any good posts lately?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.