Home of a mother, wife, writer

Another week over, another jump into the Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop. This week’s snippet takes place just a couple paragraphs down from last week’s. All three of these men have name patches on their vests: Icarus(the man in the middle from previous snippets), Bull, and Hawk. Icarus is the one speaking in the first line.

“That your bike there?”
“Y-yes, sir.”
That got a full out grin from the man. “I don’t usually get called that. Do I, Bull?”
“No, Cap’n, you sure don’t,” one of the men answered.
I glanced over at the man and swallowed. My stepfather was strong, but this man could outmuscle him any day. His knuckles had ink on them, and it ran all the way up his arms. I’d never seen so many tattoos in my life, let alone on one guy.

I’ve actually made quite a bit of progress on this during the week. Among other things. I’m about 2 weeks ahead of my schedule. Well, I was until I adjusted it. I got a new corkboard yesterday, that I can use for my editing notecards. The other one I had wasn’t big enough to fit everything and wouldn’t stay up on the wall.

Had some ideas simmering over the weekend for book 4 in my Kurztown series. The problem? I haven’t even started plotting book 3 yet.  Then, I realized that the two should probably be switched. This one should come first. I don’t know when I’ll get around to plotting it, but I might put a few notes down, at least.

Yesterday we went to my cousin’s stag & drag(for anyone not familiar, basically a combined bachelor/ette party. This was also basically their bridal shower too. It was a good time. We didn’t take the kids’ swim stuff, so they ended up swimming in their clothes. Not a big deal, except they were still wet when it was time to go home. I even had a couple family members ask when my next book was coming out.

Today, husband and I are going on a motorcycle ride. This will be my first big ride really. We’d gone on another one, but it was raining & not many people rode. We’re doing another ride Friday night, and the kids are staying over with my mom.

As for how I did on my goals for the week: haha. I changed them at the beginning of the week. So, I’ll just go from my reworked goals on Wednesday.

  • Law of Choice: Finish layering in details – DONE!! As in done, done & polished up, ready to go to my CP when she’s ready for it.
  • Guarding the Heart: Finish Chapter 15 – yeah, no, not yet. I did add 1480 to it. I’ve only been working on it in the mornings before the kids wake up. Then, switching to revisions for the rest of the day. I’m planning to continue this…for now, at least. The next one I’m revising will actually have big rewrites, I think, so I’ll probably set this aside while doing those.
  • Into the Sun – get to 17500 words(about 750 words away from this) – I met this goal this morning actually. In fact, it’s over 18k right now. I’ve added 1834 words to it this week(have been bouncing between it and Guarding the Heart in the mornings). I just might have it finished by the end of the month.
  • Read: Super Structure to 2/3 through – got this too.
  • Read: Finish Go with Me – finished this, and enjoyed it, though I had some issues with it. Also read Find Me When the Sun Goes Down(Lisa Olsen). The end pretty much broke my heart. Then, I went to add the next book to my wish list and ended up buying it instead. Oops? Also read Nice Girls Don’t Ride(Roni Loren). Loved it as much as I did when I read it as part of the Riding Desire boxed set. And I’m about 60% through Straight From the Hip(Susan Mallery). I got the first 3 books in this series from my MiL, don’t know if I like them enough to go out and buy the 4th(maybe if I see it at a book sale or the used book store). I also listened to Top Dog. I don’t usually listen(or read, except for research) non-fiction, but the fact it was about Marine dogs caught my attention(and it was on sale). And it was really good. Had me crying in a few spots too.
  • Crochet: Amazing Grace Blissful Beanie – just about finished with this. I should get it done later today.

Goals for next week:

  • Demons Rising(title subject to change, as there are no actual demons in the story): do reverse outline on notecards
  • Guarding the Heart: finish Chapter 15(hoping to get to Chapter 16 as well, but who knows)
  • Into the Sun: finish 1st draft(I know basically how I want to do this, so we’ll see if the words cooperate)
  • Read: Finish Super Structure
  • Read: Finish Straight from the Hip, and work through other free books
  • Crochet: Amazing Grace Blissful Beanie

 

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: WeWriWa – ‘All the Way Up’" (12)

  1. Great job of delineating Icarus.

  2. Love the line . . . “never seen so many tattoos in my life, let alone on one guy,” haha! LOVE THAT! Great snippet!

  3. I like the tension simmering underneath the scene, we can’t tell what’s going to happen. Great details too!

  4. I can almost picture them just from that snippet.

    Good job on the goals!!

  5. nancygideon said:

    Really moves well. Great use of dialogue.

  6. I love the names you chose for the guys from the bar. Trouble? Not? Our hero certainly expects trouble….

  7. […] I’m still sharing from Into the Sun. 10 sentences from a few paragraph’s down from last week’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

