Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “Maybe I Am”

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. Today is my and my husband’s 11th anniversary. We’ll be dropping the kids with his mom later today, doing some shopping, and eating dinner. Next weekend we’re going out of town for a motorcycle rally with the club we ride with(kids will be staying with my mom for that). For now, I have the next bit of Hawk’s story for you. I skipped a couple paragraphs ahead as Hawk starts his story.

I could have lost him yesterday, and I was sure he was thinking the same of me. Neither of us wanted to be so close to that happening again. “Why do you think it’s your dad?” Icarus asked. “Why would he do something like that?”

That was something I couldn’t decide on an answer for. “I could be wrong,” I said, “maybe I am. But something about it felt so familiar. He liked to set up a scene in preparation for his target. I never understood it. Well, the one time I followed him and saw just what he did.”

And I got Chapter 5 of Staring at the Sun posted to Wattpad yesterday, so you can check that out if you’d like.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Maybe I Am”" (15)

  1. Super snipet. So interesting.

  2. Happy anniverssary!

  3. Ah, a mystery unfolds.

  4. nancygideon said:

    Nice tease. What did he see and how will that help him now? Happy riding!!

  5. Well that must have been a traumatic childhood! (Or young adulthood, whenever the incident happened…) I’m so invested in this story…love the characters. Excellent excerpt!

  6. Wow, what is/was his dad that he had targets? Really curious to learn more about Hawk’s life.

  7. Great snippet. Not sure what to think about the father…

  8. Happy Anniversary – very intriguing excerpt!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.