Home of a mother, wife, writer

*Yes, I wrote Day 3 on the 4th of September because I’m skipping Sundays this month.

Today I used the “the sunsets were dazzling…” prompt combined with a sensory writing prompt from a patreon account I follow. This month’s was to use thunder, flannel, and $2 bills somehow. For this one, I used characters who showed up in a couple of my May Story a Day pieces.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I reached the ledge and pulled myself up over it, settling myself against the rock while Aidan finished the climb. It had taken us a while before we’d been able to come back here. First I’d almost lost him to a slippery grip. Then, he’d thought he’d lost me to a madman. Is it any wonder climbing had lost its appeal for a while there?
Thunder rumbled in the distance, and I cast a quick glance toward the sky. The sunsets were dazzling from up here, but with those clouds rolling in, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.
A hand reached up over the ledge, and I grasped it, helping Aidan pull himself the rest of the way up. He dropped back against the rock with me, and we watched the sky streak with orange and pink and even some dark purple.
The thunder boomed again, and it sounded closer this time. “We’d better get back to camp,” he said.
I wouldn’t mind staying here and watch the storm roll through, but I knew he was right. If we didn’t move, we’d be soaked. And sleeping in a tent while already drenched was not quite my idea of fun. Of course, we could always dry each other off and warm up together. And that was my idea of fun.
We packed the equipment back into our bags, and started off down the trail. Neither of us spoke, but we held hands and kept pace with each other. Once we were back in the tent, warm and dry, there would be plenty of time to talk. And anything else.
Rain drops hit us as we walked into the campsite. They fell harder, and we raced to the tent. Aidan unzipped the flap, and we both stepped inside. He zipped it back up and turned to me. A moment later, the skies completely opened up. He was shivering, so I dropped in front of my pack we’d left behind and pulled out a flannel shirt. It was a little long in the sleeve but it would work to get him warm.
“You don’t think I packed my own warm stuff?” he asked me.
I grinned at him. “You are the optimistic thinker of us. I prefer to be prepared.”
He laughed and wrapped the shirt around him, the sleeves hanging past his hands. I dug another shirt out for myself. And watched a $2 bill fall out of the pack. I could have sworn I’d left that at home. I’d thought it was lucky until the last time I brought it on a hike.
And Aidan had almost fallen off the cliff face we’d just climbed.
“It doesn’t have good or bad luck,” he said now. “We make our own luck, Ian.”
After a moment, I nodded. Then, I stepped into his arms. I wouldn’t need the sweatshirt I’d pulled out. He kept me plenty warm, especially when we climbed into the sleeping bad together.

Comments on: "Story a Day: Day 3 – Dazzling Sunset" (10)

  1. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  2. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  3. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  4. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  5. Awww…this one was fun. Even though I was sure where it was going to end up, the getting there was delightful! =D

  6. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  7. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  8. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

  9. […] Dazzling Sunset – a bit with Ian and Aidan, from my short story, Hang On. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

