Home of a mother, wife, writer

Once again, I’ve slightly adjusted how I’m getting things done. I’ve been working in blocks of time, usually shorter ones, though. Half an hour to an hour. Or working on each of my main projects for half an hour then once I’m through the list, doing chores or whatever else in on my to-do list. Well, this past week, during one of our lengthy #writingcrew chats(though we mostly seem to have dropped the hashtag, I usually forget it anyway), Lauren mentions a day map and working in 2 hour blocks. And I start thinking, this could work. I tried it out Friday, and I’m still fine-tuning how it will work best for me. I’m thinking of starting the day with a 2 hour block of writing(working on a different project each half hour or so), then 2 hours of chores, workout breakfast, then back to writing for next 2 hours. I’ll see how this works for me over the next week or so and adjust my bullet journal format for the day maps too.

New blue shoes

Saturday we took the kids to one of the local county fairs. It was the first day of it, so not everything was there, but it also meant not quite as many people. Which I certainly don’t have a problem with(there were still more than enough for me). We walked through a couple barns, got some food to eat, walked around some more, shared a funnel cake with mother-in-law(she was there working for the bank), and got ice cream from the 4-H stand. It was a very long line to wait in, but it was worth it. It’s one of the things that’s become traditional to get when we go there(for me as a kid it was cotton candy & sno cones, then the cowboy kettle corn). We walked through one of the draft horse barns before leaving and saw a couple people riding these huge horses. They actually had to use step ladders to get in the saddle.

We have church this morning and a meeting later today, but other than that, not much to do. Although we may get the boy’s birthday presents after the meeting since the kids won’t be with us, and we’re having his party next weekend.

But, for right now, I have my RoW80 update for the week

Writing:

  • Primary: Write 50000 words on 5 main projects – 32471/50000 Pretty much on target
    • Heart of Christmas – 2831 words – a good bit of this was from an SOCS post I wrote back in March, just had to adjust it to fit in with where the story was at.
      • “How could you?” Alaina asked. “You fell in love with my brother. And he’s pretty much perfect.”
        Eva burst out with laughter at that. “Really, Alaina? Perfect? You grew up with him. He helped raise you. You, of all people, should know better than that.”
        Alaina let out a watery laugh at that. “I did say pretty much. Not completely. But, you know what I mean. He’d do anything for you. He nearly gave his life for you.”
        “And I’m thankful every day he didn’t have to.” Eva stroked Alaina’s hair. “I’ve seen the way Caelen looks at you. I don’t doubt he’d do the very same for you.”
    • Still Burning – 2628 words
      • You were right. Why the hell had he told her that? She probably thought he meant about them not being good for each other. Except that hadn’t been what she said, had it? No, it had been I’m not good for you. How could she think that? She’d seen something he hadn’t even been able to fathom.
    • Whatever It Takes – 2533 words
      • She should be used to that attitude. But, she couldn’t get Carisa’s words out of her head. “You’re a lot stronger than I could ever be.”
        Would she still think that if she knew everything Jayla had done in her life? It didn’t matter. On the drive here, Jayla had kept telling herself it didn’t matter. This thing, whatever it was—attraction, desire, lust—couldn’t go anywhere. It just couldn’t. So, she might as well stop even thinking about it.
        If only she could actually make that happen.
    • High on Loving You – 2552 words
      • Morgan slumped back in the chair. “I know, Brian. It was stupid. I should have just gone straight to the diner to get Raina from Anna. Taking care of my daughter isn’t anything she signed up for. But, like I said, I was freaked out.”
    • By the Gun – 2515 words
      • “And what are you then? If Tierney is a killer.”
        “Nothing I haven’t claimed I am. I never tried to hide it. Never tried to pretend I was just an innocent rancher. You hired me for a reason, Daniels, you can’t complain about that reason now.”
        Daniels’ face twisted with disgust, and he tossed the small pouch of money over to Patrick. “Just get out of here. I don’t want to lay eyes on you again.”
        Patrick smirked as he bent to retrieve his payment. It wasn’t the first time he’d heard that. And they always found him again when they once more found themselves in need of his services. He doubted this man would be any different.
  • Secondary: Write 10000 words on 10 side projects – 5498/10000 nearly on target here, too.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 197 words
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 113 words
    • Roman – 212 words
    • Dougal & Shae – 284 words
    • Jacob & Matthew – 153 words
    • Mike & Fadil– 239 words
    • Preggers – 186 words
    • Hawk – 206 words
    • Sean & Braeden – 215 words
    • Jared’s Stepfather – 186 words & this one is done!
  • Stretch: Write 50 pages in composition notebook on Jonas & Isaac’s story47/50

Editing:

  • Primary: Edit Stained Blood as I get chapters back – 0/25 chapters. Still waiting
  • Secondary: Edit Flames of Renewal once I get it back – 0/25 chapters. Still waiting.
  • Stretch: Polish In the Moonlight & Staring at the Sun, post Staring at the Sun on Wattpad, Edit Midas’ Daughter – Reorganized Midas’ Daughter chapters & sent to my kindle to read through. Read through Midas’ Daughter. Right on target, maybe even a bit ahead. 50/50 revisions made. 50/50 polished. Posted Chapter 1 of Staring at the Sun to Wattpad.

Reading:

  • Primary: Read 30 books – 18/30 Right on target
    • The Crepes of Wrath(Sarah Fox) – Started this Sunday morning. Finished it Sunday night. Liked it, but there were a lot of parts where I was feeling meh. Added the next book to list anyway. I’ll probably grab it if it goes on sale. If it’s another ‘meh’, I probably won’t read the next.
    • The Upside of Unrequited(Becky Albertalli) – Started this Monday afternoon. Finished it Monday evening. Just loved this so much.
    • Stranded with the Cyborg(Cara Bristol) – Started this Tuesday afternoon. Finished it Wednesday afternoon. Was a fairly fun read, but a few things had me rolling my eyes. And didn’t enjoy it enough to get the next book in the series.
    • Into the Whirlwind(Kat Martin) – Started this Wednesday afternoon. Finished it Thursday night. Really enjoyed it.
    • Tough Luck Hero(Maisey Yates) – Started this Thursday night. Finished it Saturday morning. Really enjoyed it.
    • Hot Rain(Kat Martin) – Started this Saturday morning. On page 334/414
  • Secondary: Listen 4 books – 4/4 Target reached
    • Rock Solid(Riley Hart) – Started this Sunday afternoon. Finished it Thursday morning. Enjoyed it.
    • Need You for Always(Marina Adair) – Started this Thursday morning. On Chapter 6/18
  • Stretch: Read 1 craft/research book – 0/1

Social Media:

  • Primary: Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday(Chapter one of Staring at the Sun), SOCS(a playful moment between Jonas & Isaac), WeWriWa(the end of Chapter 1 of Hawk’s story), & Sunday Summary posts each week – 4/5 this week. Staying on target
  • Secondary: Post to Patreon at least 1x a week – Didn’t post anything this week. Trying to decide exactly what I want to post. If you were my patron(and you can be for only $1 a month), what would you want to see from me? I feel like I’m talking to a void there since I don’t have any patrons there, but I don’t want to just stop posting content.
  • Stretch: Stay current with blog comments – Current as of Saturday morning
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Blocking Time" (8)

  1. I like the idea of time blocks. I can see how it would be helpful for organization and motivation. I’m going to give it a try. I might start with the shorter blocks though.

    Congrats on the progress.

  2. It does sound like a good thing to adjust your schedule, and using blocks of time might be the way to make it work. Since I never have more than a two hour block of time at a time, I don’t know how I could make it work, but I know I need to come up with some system to use my time more efficiently.
    Have a great week.

    • It’s working for me. At least for the moment. I’m sure it wouldn’t work as well, or I’d at least have to adjust it more, if I wasn’t home all day.
      Thanks, you too!

  3. Love the shoes. Blue. My favorite color. Blocks of time and day maps? You always seem to get a phenomenal level of writing done each week, so this post surprises me a little. I typically get 1-3 hours of writing done very early and then not worry so much about what else happens. What is less consistent for me is the wrap-around stuff (like marketing) that fits in somewhere or not at all. I’m continually amazed at the range of writing projects you can work on at the same time, so I’ll just wish you good progress for the rest of the week.

    • Part of my problem is that my brain likes to be a jerk and try to tell me that I should do more no matter how much I actually get done. So, I’m always tying to find ways to get it all done. This seems to work well, especially as it can be rather flexible.

  4. […] playful moment between Jonas & Isaac), WeWriWa(the end of Chapter 1 of Hawk’s story), & Sunday Summary posts each week – 5/5 last week(all linked above except WW). Staying on […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

