Home of a mother, wife, writer

“Just keep your pants on,” Isaac said. “I’m on my way.”

“I’m pretty sure that’s the first time you’ve said that to me.”

Isaac looked up from the phone in his hand and saw Jonas standing on the other side of the screen door. “What are you doing here?” he asked.

“Luis is my nephew,” Jonas said. “I told Tereza I’d help set up for his party. I thought I’d be helping Cristine though.”

Isaac’s foster mother–adopted now, though even after nearly six years, he had trouble just calling her mom, it felt disloyal to his birth mother who had loved him even if she couldn’t live with his father anymore–and her husband, Roman, had gone out for the morning. They said they’d be back in time for any last minute details. “Sorry. It’s just me.” Now he wondered if they’d done that on purpose. She’d told him Tereza’s brother was going to come over and help. Silly him had assumed she’d meant Toby.

“I don’t know if that’s something to be sorry for,” Jonas said.

Isaac closed his eyes, wishing he could let it feel as if the last five plus years could just be wiped away. As soon as he opened them, he knew that wasn’t possible, though. The Jonas who stood in front of him, still on crutches, wasn’t the same one he’d walked away from the day of their graduation from high school.

“Are you going to let me help, or are we just going to stand here until everyone else arrives?”

Isaac stepped make so Jonas could come in. He searched through his mental list, even though he had it right in front of him on the phone too, to come up with something Jonas could do off his feet…foot, he corrected himself. “Balloons,” he blurted out. “Can you blow up balloons?” He could do that sitting down.

Jonas arched an eyebrow, and Isaac was sure that was a smile twitching his lips. “Have you forgotten how good I am at blowing things…up. At least that’s what you used to say.”

Isaac didn’t miss the innuendo laced in there. And, God, he’d tried to forget. He turned away before Jonas could see the way his words had him reacting. What were they doing? He grabbed the bag of balloons and carried them over to where Jonas dropped into a chair at the kitchen table. He was rubbing at the end of his right leg through his pants, and it made Isaac freeze.

“Are you okay?” he asked. “Is it bothering you.”

“It’s fine,” Jonas told him.

“You didn’t walk all the way over here, did you?” It was in a different neighborhood than where Jonas’ mother lived. it would be a trek on two feet. using crutches wouldn’t be easy.

“I made that mistake already. The day I saw you at the center. Toby dropped me off today.”

“About that day–”

“No,” Jonas said. “We went over it once. Just, let’s not today, okay. I didn’t handle things well then. I already wasn’t in a good place. Today is my nephew’s fifth birthday. I just want to celebrate that. Anything else can wait.”

Isaac blew out a breath. “We can do that,” he said. Waiting meant they had a chance to make things right again. He could definitely do that. For now, he had some dinosaur cupcakes to decorate. But, he took a moment to watch Jonas put his mouth over the end of a balloon. Yeah, looked like he was still good with his mouth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was to use pant, either on its own or as part of another word. And again, the first line of dialogue(really 1st 2 lines) popped into my head. I was looking forward to a more playful moment between these two, though it did get serious in there, too. But, looks like they might finally be able to come back together. We’ll have to see. 😉

Comments on: "Stream of Consciousness Saturday: “Pant”" (4)

  1. This is going to give me a naughty little smile people will wonder about all morning – I just know it! ;D But, oh, so worth it!

    Me? Blowing up….balloons…..makes me dizzy!

    • I’m glad you liked it. I’m loving these boys so much. Now to see how they got to the point they can joke around. Last time I left Jonas, he was telling Toby he should have died with the rest of his crew. Definitely not in a good place.
      Yeah, I’m not so good at blowing up balloons either. or tying them. Husband usually takes care of that for birthday parties.

  2. […] Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday(Chapter one of Staring at the Sun), SOCS(a playful moment between Jonas & Isaac), WeWriWa(the end of Chapter 1 of Hawk’s story), […]

  3. […] Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday(Chapter one of Staring at the Sun), SOCS(a playful moment between Jonas & Isaac), WeWriWa(the end of Chapter 1 of Hawk’s story), & […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

