Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: Behind Armor

Welcome back for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. We have a much more laidback weekend here than the last one. I’ll savor that for now since the next couple won’t be as much. But, after Labor Day, things usually calm down social-wise. At least until the holidays. But, I’m sure you’re here for more of Hawk’s story. so, here’s the next bit. This follows right after last week’s.

His gaze shot past me to the truck, but Mr. Bentley hadn’t come out yet. He looked back at me. This was something we’d been trying to work past as well. He was mostly okay with the other Riders seeing us being affectionate, but with anyone else around, he reverted to his old state, of trying to pretend we were only friends.

I wish he never had to do that. But, I knew it could be hard to leave behind armor that had always done well protecting you.

So I held myself back from kissing him, even though I wanted to do it more than anything else at the moment. I couldn’t be the one to make the move. Damon just stared into my eyes, though.

Then, from the truck, Mr. Bentley shouted, “Jeez, boy, just kiss him already and put him out of his misery.”

Will Damon kiss Hawk already? Will it get easier to leave behind that armor? What is going to happen next? I should have at least one of those answers for you next week.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: Behind Armor" (12)

  1. Interesting snippet!

  2. […] Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday, SOCS, WeWriWa, & Sunday Summary posts each week – 5/5 for this week once this one […]

  3. I don’t know if Mr. Bentley’s intervention will help or not. Hope it breaks the ice so they can laugh, kiss and get past all that armor.

  4. Diane Burton said:

    I hope that humorous order will help them get over the awkwardness and just kiss. Good snippet. You really show the dilemma they’re in.

  5. It’s nice that Hawk can be so understanding about the situation! Mr. Bentley actually isn’t being that helpful although I’m sure he believes he is LOL. Great snippet!

  6. Baha! That last line made me laugh.

  7. […] Fiction Friday(Cover for Staring at the Sun), SOCS(some of Jonas & Isaac’s story), WeWriWa(a bit of Hawk’s Story), & Sunday Summary(final check-in for last week) posts each week […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

