Home of a mother, wife, writer

almost 10 years ago(1 week old)

Okay, so it’s 10 years minus 1 day. Yes, my daughter is going to be double digits tomorrow. And yes, I’m having a hard time believing that. This is my sensitive, and sometimes dramatic, daughter. She often still has her bed so covered in stuffed animals that there’s little room for her to sleep. She’s my “girly-girl”, who likes to paint her nails and wear dresses and skirts. Has a strong distaste for jeans(and I mean strong, she refuses to wear them). She’s my little bookworm, who seems to be more interested in non-fiction(particularly about animals) these days.


And she’s going to be 10. She’ll be starting fourth grade in 3 weeks(well, from yesterday). How did this happen?(yeah, I know how, but still). We had her birthday party this past Sunday. I was a little stressed since we were busy all day Saturday, and by the time I got home at 8:30 that night, I still had to bake zucchini bread(ended up with enough zucchini for 2 loaves) and the cake. So, it was close to 11 before I got to bed. And there was stuff to do in the morning before the party. But, we got it handled. And I mostly handled the party, even if 7 kids(counting mine) being loud in my house had me a little on edge. And that was just her cousins. And we get to do it again in 3 weeks for her brother’s birthday.


And now it’s time for WiPPet Snippet, a blog hop hosted by the amazing Emily Wrayburn where we post from a current Work in Progress that somehow corresponds to the date. Today I have 9 paragraphs, picking up a little ways down from where I left off in Jonas & Isaac’s story last week. Jonas is snapping out at people, and Toby realizes why and pushes him to take a pill so he’s not in so much pain. And we find out a little more about what happened to him.

He twisted off the cap, glad at least his arms hadn’t been damaged in the accident, and he could at least do something for himself. Some hero. The chopper had gone down on their way to pick up a couple wounded soldiers, and he hadn’t been able to even help the men on board. Hadn’t been able to help Santiago, his best friend, his one time lover.
Jonas swallowed a sob with the pill. All his medic training had meant jack shit as he laid trapped in the wreckage. He’d heard Santiago take his last breaths and hadn’t been able to get to him. His foot had been so mangled and deprived of blood flow by the time help go there, there’d been no recourse but to remove it. They thought it was a head injury that caused the vision and hearing loss on his left side.
But, he was still alive. Some days he just wasn’t quite sure if that was a positive or not.
The door opened again, and he lifted his head, thinking it would be his mom, sister, sister-in-law and the kids.
It wasn’t.
Everything inside him froze as five years seemed to just disappear. His stomach knotted up, and he gripped the edge of the table. No. He was only here for two days. Couldn’t he even go that long without seeing him? Any other time he’d been home on leave he could have stood it. Not now, though.
“Isaac,” Carlos said. “You here for that dinner order for the center?”
“Yeah. Is it ready?” His voice had started to trail off on the last word, and Jonas knew his ex-boyfriend was looking at him. There wasn’t much more than blurred images on that side, though.
He ducked his head and turned his face away, hoping Isaac hadn’t already seen the scars there. The last thing he needed was pity from that direction.

How will Isaac react to seeing him again? Will he pity Jonas? Will they even talk? I’ll have the end of this scene for you next week.
In the meantime, you can check out the other WiPPeteers here.

Writing:

  • Primary: Write 50000 words on 5 main projects – 12370/50000 words
    • Heart of Christmas – 1245 words
    • Still Burning – 1048 words
    • Whatever It Takes – 1154 words
    • High on Loving You – 1241 words
    • By the Gun – 1152 words
  • Secondary: Write 10000 words on 10 side projects -2299/10000 words
    • Patrick & Sarah – 31 words
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 68 words
    • Roman – 111 words
    • Dougal & Shae – 64 words
    • Jacob & Matthew – 97 words
    • Mike & Fadil – 144 words
    • Preggers – 49 words
    • Hawk – 29 words
    • Sean & Braeden – 151 words
    • Jacob’s Stepfather – 143 words
  • Stretch: Write 20 pages in composition notebook on Jonas & Isaac’s story(already had 2 pages written at beginning of month) – 16/20 pages

Editing:

  • Primary: Edit Stained Blood as I get chapters back
  • Secondary: Edit Flames of Renewal once I get it back
  • Stretch: Polish In the Moonlight and Staring at the Sun, post Staring at the Sun on Wattpad, Edit Midas’ Daughter – 34/34 polished for In the Moonlight

Reading:

  • Primary: Read 30 books – 6/30
    • Two of a Kind(Susan Mallery) – Started this Friday afternoon. Finished it Sunday night.
    • Interborough(Santino Hassell) – Started this Sunday night. Finished it Monday night. Loved it.
    • Fatal Justice(Marie Force) – started this Monday night. Finished it Tuesday night. Enjoyed it.
  • Secondary: Listen to 4 audio books – 2/4
    • Carry Me Home(Rosalind James) – Started this Friday afternoon. Finished it Tuesday afternoon. Liked it. Though I could handle not ever reading/hearing another male character telling a female character to act/dress/look feminine. In the context in this book, it wasn’t so bad, but I’ve heard it enough in my own life that I’m rather tired of it.
    • Forgotten Memories(Robin Perini) – Started this Tuesday afternoon. On Chapter 2/27
  • Stretch: Read 1 craft/research book

Social Media:

  • Primary: Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday, SOCS, WeWriWa, & Sunday Summary posts each week – 1/5 once this one posts.
  • Secondary: Post to Patreon at least 1x a week – Posted excerpt from Still Burning on Monday.
  • Stretch: Stay current with blog comments – current as of Tuesday morning
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: 10 Years" (15)

  1. jlgfellers said:

    Again, your level of organization wows me! I like this story… especially as a vet myself.

    Jonas is trying to be stoic, something I see in a lot of vets, even if it’s actually self-destructive.

    And while your daughter is readying for fourth grade, our youngest son is readying for his first year of college. Talk about a lot to buy. In a week-and a-half we’ll be driving 3.5 hours in caravan style to take all his necessities to his dorm.

    We’re really going to miss him.

    Enjoy your child while you got her. It sounds cliche’ but they do grow up so very fast.

    • Thanks, I may be a little too organized at times, but it does seem to work for me.
      I’m glad you like it. And yeah, he’s not necessarily coping in the best of ways right now.

  2. Happy Birthday you your double digit girl. 😀

    Congrats on the progress!

  3. Double digits! Been there twice now. That brings up a lot of memories. My older one starts high school in less than a month, and that has me feeling…I don’t even know.

    Great snippet. That’s a lot for Jonas to deal with all at once. I suspect Isaac can handle more than Jonas is giving him credit for, though.

    • Yeah, and he isn’t dealing too well. Isaac doesn’t handle things too well at first, but I’m sure he’ll get to where he’s a good support for Jonas.

  4. WIPpeteers… I like that!

    Your daughter is beautiful! It must be amazing to watch her grow in front of your eyes 🙂

    I can feel Jonas’s grief and helplessness in this snippet. As a druggie (pharmacist!), I am curious what drug he took. A prescription pill or something else? Is that going to affect him later on? I am looking forward to read more about Jonas and his ex-boyfriend.

    • It’s a term we came up with a while ago. 🙂 Not sure if anyone’s used it recently, though.
      Thanks. We’re pretty fond of her. 🙂
      I’m glad it comes through. It would definitely be prescription. His mother’s a recovering addict(though she’s been clean since before he was born, but she never kept it a secret from him). And he’s resistant to even taking that.

      • Kudos to Jonas for staying away from street drugs 🙂 prescription painkillers can be addictive as well. Many people who abuse heroin were initially on prescription painkillers before developing an addiction. Just thought that I’d mention that in case that is interesting or useful to you. And it just so happens that I am very opinionated about prescription painkillers XD

  5. Early this morning, I took a moonlit walk (the moon was seriously gorgeous!) with Jeremiah – who SHAVES! He asked me to give him “test questions” because he’s been studying the new drivers’ manual and taking practice tests. “That way, if I know it, I get more confident, and, if I don’t, I learn something,” said this boy of not quite 16 years, who towers over his not-short mother.

    It seems like just a few minutes ago that I was marveling at HIM attaining double digits, and now he’s well on his way to an independent adult life.

    And no person in my house is younger than 13. And speaking of Lise, she’s just in the last few days stopped needing as many hugs, which leaves me struggling to adapt rather than become a clingy annoying mom….oh, and she doesn’t wear jeans, either – hasn’t since she was about 6, I think.

    What JG said up there – it’s true. In spades. Even with homeschooling and spending most of our time together, I’m dumbfounded by how quickly they change – sometimes, from one day to the next, like they decided to pull a prank while they were sleeping.

    I hope Isaac can adjust, so he can help Jonas to adjust, too – because it seems like there’s a lot of adjusting and working through that needs to happen here, and I’ve got this feeling it would be a lot easier to do together.

    And happy birthday to your growing-up girl! =D

    • I’m thinking Isaac might adjust a little sooner than Jonas. Which, yes, should allow him to help Jonas get there, too. If only the can let themselves open their hearts to each other again. it will probably take some getting there, though(otherwise, it would be a pretty short story). 🙂

  6. […] Post Writing Wednesday, Fiction Friday, SOCS, WeWriWa, & Sunday Summary posts each week – 5/5 for this week once […]

  7. Happy Birthday to your not so little one! And oh, poor Jonas, that was really heartbreaking to read.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

