Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I have another snippet from Hawk’s story. This picks up right after last week’s. I got rather creative with the punctuation to make it all fit.

For as long as I’d known him, that store had been the one thing he cared for most. How could he say it didn’t matter now? It had been my safe place when I was a teen, a refuge away from my father’s rages. He’d just abandon that now?

I opened my mouth to argue, but Damon put his hand on my thigh, derailing my train of thought. My body instantly reacted to his touch, and I saw his mouth curved up, but, his voice was serious when he said, “Bentley’s right. He could be used against us. I can’t see you in that position again, Gavin, I just can’t.”

My chest cracked open at his words; I knew we both still had nightmares even though it had been months since the Ivory Crows had used me as bait against him. They’d known exactly how he’d react when he found out I was in danger, and he hadn’t disappointed them; it had nearly gotten us both killed.

Are they going to get into another situation like that? Will Bentley abandon the shop?

And I have Chapter 8 of Dance with the Devil up on Wattpad. So, you can check that out if you’re so inclined.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “In That Position”" (11)

  1. I hope he doesn’t abandon the shop, clearly it meant a lot to both of them.

  2. A goo discussion going on, enjoyed the excerpt. I really like these characters and feel invested in them!

  3. I really liked getting this insight into their history and how much they care for each other. Makes me wonder, is there a book or story before this one?

    • yes. This is #5 in a series of novellas. They first got together in #3, but they’ve known each other quite a while.

  4. “My chest cracked open…” Wow, that’s quite an image!

  5. Diane Burton said:

    Interesting insight into their history. I enjoyed this snippet.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

