Home of a mother, wife, writer

I had a pretty good start to the week, even with the holiday throwing some things off. Then, there was Thursday. It started off pretty well. Then, my computer started acting up. Kept saying it wasn’t responding and everything was running slow. Ended up restarting and I lost a whole scene from Whatever It Takes. Most of which I’d written on Wednesday, so I have no clue why it didn’t save(I don’t think I’ve ever had that problem with Scrivener before). Thankfully I had most of it saved in a document. Since I’m writing 5 different projects for Camp NaNo, whenever I finish my words for the day on each, I copy them into one document to make it easier to validate my count at the end of the month. So, I at least still had Wednesday’s words for that scene. I just had to retype the ~200 I’d written Thursday morning. It wasn’t a huge deal, but still a pain. At least after the restart it was working better.

Made a swing for the fire hydrant sprinkler with her helmet.

This weekend our town has ‘The Gathering at French Creek’, and Friday night they have fireworks. Our fire department has a food tent there(this year they brought back the chicken barbeque instead of the sausage and onions they’ve done the last couple years) and the Explorers post sells pop right next to it. My husband is an adviser for the Explorers, so he had to be there. He picked us up after work and we went in, met up with his mother and walked around. There was a paparazzi jewelry tent and the girl ended up getting 2 rings(they were $1 each). I don’t know where she gets it, I hate dressing up and wearing jewelry, and she loves it. Then, we ended up staying for the fireworks. I may have mentioned before that I really don’t like fireworks. My anxiety was already up before we even left the house, and there were way too many people there. So when the fireworks started going off, I was already on edge. And then my rational brain and anxiety brain start arguing. Which is basically:

Rational brain: They’re just fireworks. They aren’t going to kill you.

Anxiety: Yes. They will.

So, fun times.

The girl and her pup

Saturday was a pretty laidback day. Husband had to go back to the Gathering to work the tents again, but we stayed home. I got a lot of reading done and wrote another short back story for Jonas and Isaac(this one overlaps with a scene from Not Meant to Be). Today should be another laidback day, though we do need to go get groceries at some point.

Writing:

  • Heart of Christmas – 10000 words – 2953/10000 words, 2684 this week
    • “What do you want?” he cried, flinging his arms out, the keys flying as he pulled them back out. “You want me to say I wish he hadn’t come in and messed with you? That’s true. You want me to say I want to smash his face in? That’s true, too. You want me to admit the man who raised me is a drunken git, and now that he’s set his sights on you, I’m bloody well terrified.”
  • Still Burning – 10000 words – 2779/10000 words, 2379 this week
    • She’d known she wasn’t good for him. That she’d be a destroying force in his life. Which was why she kept trying to let him go. It didn’t seem to do anything good. They were like opposite ends of magnets, pulling back to each other, no matter how either of them fought it.
  • Whatever It Takes – 10000 words – 2737/10000 words, 2471 this week
    • “You’re listening to this again?” Alexa asked.
      “What? I like it.” And some of the songs felt like they fit her life so well. Particularly the one talking about living life on your knees and needing to rise up. She’d been there.
  • High on Loving You – 10000 words – 2824/10000 words, 2605 this week
    • “What’s up with Bry?” he asked.
      She shook her head. “He wants to talk to Dad first before he tells anyone else.”
      “But, he told you?” Morgan asked. He shouldn’t feel jealous that his brother had turned to their sister. They’d never really been confidantes.
  • By the Gun – 10000 words – 2613/10000 words, 2343 this week
    • There was no point going forward. But, he didn’t know if he could go back, either. How could he return without Rosalyn? How could he go on knowing he’d failed his family in so many ways?
  • Side Projects – 10000 words – 2462/10000 words, 2462 this week
    • Midas’ Daughter – 112 words “Calla isn’t yours,” Flip insisted, turning back just in time for James’ fist to hit his eye.
    • Hawk – 244 words – It hadn’t been the Corps that had taught me most of my surveillance techniques. It had been a survival skill in my childhood. The Corps had just helped me enhance and refine those techniques.
    • Jared’s Stepfather – 113 words – “But, what if he does it again. I don’t want you to get hurt again.”
    • Preggers – 217 words – “You deserve more than someone okay with who you are,” Marika said sharply. “They should love and be proud of every piece of who you are.”
    • Sean & Braeden – 174 words – He had to get out of there before he admitted the truth to Sean. That he’d loved him when they were still boys. And he’d never once stopped.
    • Mike & Fadil – 274 words – “Yes,” she said quickly, and he knew it was lie. But, she wouldn’t tell him if she did need something. Tough. He’d send her a check soon anyway. Like he did every month, even though it wasn’t court-ordered. 
    • Jacob & Matthew – 723 words(most of these are rewritten from a scene from Stained Blood) – Jacob wondered how many people did yet. It probably wouldn’t take long. The sheriff’s prodigal son returned would be big news.
    • Dougal & Shae – 120 words – She skirted around the edge of the kitchen and headed for the door leading out to the back yard. Maybe if she could get some air and solitude she’d be able to face people without wanting to punch the first person who spoke to her. *Shae’s got a bit of a temper there.
    • Roman – 154 words – He just wasn’t sure exactly how to do that. So, he left while she finished setting the table. He’d come back to what he needed to talk about later. It wouldn’t be a good time right now. It would only show her she really couldn’t trust him.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 119 words – But, she couldn’t just leave him out there on his own.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 212 words – She looked up at him for a long moment, her eyes softening. Then, she stiffened and glanced down at Will. “Where’s your brother?” she asked, obviously realizing only one of her sons was there.

Editing:

  • Stained Blood – Beta edits – Chapter 1/26, 0 this month
  • Flames of Renewal – CP edits
  • In the Moonlight – Read Through & Revise – Read through Chapter 8/32
  • Hang OnPolish & Submit

Reading:

  • Listen: 5 books – 1/5
    • Bitterblue(Kristin Cashore) – Started this last Monday morning. Finished it Wednesday morning. Loved it.
    • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue(Mackenzi Lee) – downloaded this Wednesday morning. Started listening Thursday morning(would have started sooner but someone *coughShancough* got me hooked on the Hamilton soundtrack and was listening to that in the odd moments instead). On Chapter 14/30
  • Read: 30 books – 10/30, 8 this week
    • Speak No Evil(Allison Brennan) – Started this Sunday afternoon. Finished this Monday night. Really enjoyed it.
    • Knit Tight(Annabeth Albert) – Started this Monday night. Finished it Tuesday afternoon. Really enjoyed it.
    • Taking him On(Debbie McGowan) – Started this Tuesday evening. Finished it Wednesday evening. Loved it.
    • The Trouble with Goodbye(Sarra Cannon) – Read this Wednesday night. Liked it.
    • Song of Wishrock Harbor(Krista Walsh) – Started this Wednesday night. Finished it Thursday night. Loved this one.
    • It Started with a Kiss(Marina Adair) – Started this Thursday night. Finished it Friday evening. Loved it.
    • Protector(Becca J Campbell) – Started this Friday evening. Finished it Saturday afternoon. Enjoyed it.
    • Home Ice(Katie Kenyhercz) – Started this Saturday afternoon. Finished it Saturday evening. Enjoyed it.
    • Winter of the Wolf(Christina Ochs) – Started this Saturday night. At 14%

 

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Gathering" (9)

  1. Eek on the crash! That’s one of my biggest fears. I’ve got a back up service…but this makes me want to double or triple back up.

    It looks like you’re making good progress, despite the setbacks. Go you! 😀

  2. Hmm? I tried posting a comment once already and it got lost in cyberspace. Can’t remember what I wrote either. I think something about how impressive your week had been, despite the setback. Keep up the good work.

  3. Confession time – here’s what I’ve got:

    I won’t apologize for doing what’s right. And I love that you can’t say no to this. And that you worked in a reference in your story. It’s so much fun, isn’t it?!

    Great start to the week!

    • Haha. Yeah, the day I wrote that part I woke up with My Shot in my head. And when I got to that part, those lines stood out to me, and I realized Jayla would really affected by that line.

      Thanks. That was actually the end of last week, but it’s been a great start to this week too. 🙂 I’ll be getting to that soon. 😉

      • I have a theory there’s a Hamilton quote for any and every situation. =D

        I’ve drafted my post, then played some with Jim’s business page, to see what I need to do to get his online sales rolling…now my eyes want to close…but I’m crazy enough to think maybe I could get the post finished before I sleep…..and stay up long enough to get Jim’s input on a couple of business things, so I can work on the page while he’s at work. Also, full moon is keeping me awake.,,,

      • I have most of my post ready. A little bit to write at the beginning, my WiPPet to add in(you’ll get to see Jonas again) and make sure everything’s updated and off it can go.

      • Nice! I need to add images and links, but otherwise done. I’m a bit more awake, so I’m going to at least get it started.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

