Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Hawk’s story, and it still doesn’t have a title. I’ll have to come up with one eventually. But, for now, I have the beginning of the next scene(minus the first 3 sentences because I couldn’t make it all fit).

“You can pull off up here,” I told him as Devil sat up beside me. “There’s a place we can take shelter until dark, then we’ll go back for our bikes. You should probably get back and open the store.”

Mr. Bentley shook his head. “I am not a fool, boy. If that was your father, and I’m not doubting you, I’ve known him longer than you have, he’ll be waiting for me to show up. He’ll wait for me to lead him to you, if that’s really what he’s wanting. I won’t do it. The shop can rot for all I care. You’re what’s important.”

The question is: was it really Hawk’s father? What do they both know about him that makes them so sure? Will they be safe for the moment at least?

And I got Chapter 7 of Dance with the Devil posted if you want to get caught up on that.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “The Shop Can Rot”" (12)

  1. He definitely knows more than they do. They should probably listen to him.

  2. Good to know he has friends who care about him so much!

  3. It really sounds like they’re not going to be truly safe anywhere. Nice snippet!

  4. Hmm, this question of Hawk’s father (or not) has a lot of aspects to consider. Interesting snippet!

  5. nancygideon said:

    A wonderful sage to have on their side! Nice dialogue, Fallon. You could really feel his emotion.

  6. It sounds as though Devil has found a good ally.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

