Home of a mother, wife, writer

It was a pretty good end to the month. I ended up with over 70,000 words for the month between drafting, plotting, editing, and my side projects.

And I started the next month out well, with me writing almost 1500 words between my 5 main projects Saturday morning. I usually don’t write much on the weekends, but Shan was also up, so we sprinted together for a while.

This month I’m planning to get back to my alternating hour of writing/hour of “other stuff” plan. I fell away from that in June due to following along with the JuNoWriMo sprints, but it has been a pretty good way of getting things done, especially when there aren’t any sprints to keep me on track.

Saturday morning, we went out for breakfast, stopped at Tractor Supply so husband could get stuff to fix a tire, then off to get groceries. We were home for a little bit then off his aunt’s for a picnic and later fireworks(I’m really not a huge fan of fireworks, or you know, people. But, I go along anyway). Thankfully I can take my kindle along and escape for a little bit.

We didn’t get home until almost eleven. And I slept in until almost 7. Going to have a more laidback day today. I’m not sure if we’ll have anything to go to on Tuesday or not. Hopefully the holiday will just be spent at home.

Plotting:

  • High on Your Love Back stories, Plot summaries, Story Toolkit, Outline Act 1 – Through Timeline. Section 18/18. Outlined through Chapter 6(end of Act 1). Once I get through writing those scenes, I’ll outline the next Act. Maybe that will keep me from getting too far off the outline if I can adjust it more easily as I finish each Act.
  • Jayla & Carisa Plot summaries, Story Toolkit, Outline Act 1 – Through Timeline. Section 18/18. Outlined through Act 1.

Writing:

  • Heart of Christmas(BC Security #3.5) Add 8000 words – 9996/8000 words, 1930 words this week
    • She’d briefly considered dumping all the pictures in the trash bin and wrecking the board she’d already started attaching some of them to. He’d actually thought she only liked him out of pity. After that kiss the other day, how could he think that? Or did he put that off to pity, too? Could he seriously be that dense?
  • Still Burning(Hunter Family #4)Add 10000 words – 11352/10000 words, 1129 words this week
    • That’s exactly what she was afraid of, though. She hadn’t even made it a week, and she’d already let her dad down.
  • Not Meant to Be(Gilbert, Co #6) – finish 1st draft 
  • By the Gun – Add 8000 words – 8187/8000 words, 1970 words this week
    • He had. Just not when his boys could see it. He’d gone back out to the graves the night before when everyone had been sleeping, and he’d sobbed until he’d felt wrung out. But, he didn’t see how his sons seeing him that way would help anything. *Well, it may just let them see you’re human, Luke.
  • Side Projects Add 9000 words between them – 16594/9000 words, 3350 words this week
    • Jared’s Stepfather – 218 words – The door creaked open, and Jared turned his head. Carlos stood in the doorway, the worry fading from his eyes as he met Jared’s gaze. “You’re awake then, brother. Your hermanita will be glad to hear that.”
    • Roman – 240 words – Roman let out a long breath, but caught Cristine’s eye and the shake of her head. Right. He couldn’t push on this. She wouldn’t believe just him showing her. He’d have to prove it another way.
    • Hawk – 282 words – I shook my head. “I haven’t seen him since just before I turned seventeen. I lived with Mr. Bentley from then to the time I left for Basic Training.” I could feel the curiosity coming from most of the people at the table. All except Wraith and Damon. They already knew the story. I hoped now wouldn’t be the time I’d have to repeat it.
    • Jacob & Matthew – 203 words – “And if they do?” Jacob asked.  “I am only grooming the stage’s horses and talking to my old friend who just showed up back in town. I see nothing wrong with it.” He wanted to do a lot more than that, but Matthew was right. Neither of them could afford to get caught.
    • Preggers – 304 words – Marika smiled, this one showing more amusement. “At least you don’t seem surprised it’s widows and not widowers I’d go after.”
    • Midas’ Daughter – 388 words – “No, sir,” Flip said. “My job is to take care of and train the horses you own. Not help make a spectacle of your daughter. You should know she’s worth so much more than that.”
    • Patrick & Sarah – 458 words – Patrick would have refused it, but he thought there was another reason Sarah had sent her son from the room, the tea only an excuse. Sure enough, once he was gone, she said, “He wants me defenseless and desperate so I have to accept his terms. I will not do it, Mr. Bailey. But, it’s going to come to the point where I do not have a choice. I have my sons to care for.” *And Patrick being the honorable man he is, can do nothing but offer to help. 🙂
    • Dougal & Shae – 206 words – “You aren’t,” Donovan insisted. “In fact, I’d planned to abandon you here with Shae while I go find my wife and son. Sorry, friend.” Then, Donovan was scurrying out of the room.
    • Sean & Braeden – 263 words – he heard the cessation of Sean’s footsteps, almost as if the stopping of sound was a noise in itself. “You almost sound upset by that,” Sean said. “What did ye want me to do? Force ye to keep kissing me?”
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 298 words – “Nowhere,” Tavin said on a groan. “I have nowhere to go. Lost my job, don’t got a home, Haiwee. Don’t got nowhere at all.”
    • Mike & Fadil – 490 words – “Mama,” he said exasperated. “I am not here to find a man. I am here to help you. As long as I need to.” *Ah, Fadil. So sweet, but you are carrying so much guilt that’s not yours. *sigh*

Editing:

  • Stained Blood – beta edits – edited Chapter 1/26(counting the epilogue as a chapter of its own).
  • Flames of Renewal – CP edits – still waiting, but I should have this soon.
  • In the Moonlight – Pre-revisions & 1st Revisions – This is done until I start the read through in July.
  • One Touch(formerly Snow White Twist) Beta edits, Polish, & Submit – 10/10 chapters revised. 50/50 polished. Submitted it on Wednesday. Now to wait to hear back(unless it’s a definite no, sometime in November. *bites nails*)
  • Dance with the Devil – Polish 6 chapters  – Polished 6/6 chapters
  • Mason & LilaPolish & Post to Patreon – 50/50 polished. Posted it on Tuesday.
  • Hang OnRead Through, & Revise – Read through and revised on Thursday. It’s just over 3k now(was about 2800-ish). Just have to polish up and submit now.

Reading:

  • Listen: 5 books – 4/5, 1 this week
    • The Mummy Case(Elizabeth Peters) – Finished this Monday morning. Really enjoyed it.
    • Bitterblue(Kristin Cashore) – Started this Monday morning. Chapter 31/46
  • Read: 30 books – 30/30, 4 this week
    • Hiding Behind the Couch – Box Set One(Debbie McGowan) – Read through Beginnings, Ruminations, Hiding Behind the Couch, & No Time Like the Present.  Finished The Harder They Fall Sunday morning. Started Crying in the Rain Sunday morning. Finished it Thursday night. Read First Christmas on Friday. Finished 7/7. Loved them all
    • Kiss Me, Kill Me(Allison Brennan) – Started this Monday morning. Finished it Monday night. Really enjoyed it.
    • Once Upon a Rose(Laura Florand) – Started this Tuesday morning. finished it Tuesday night. Really enjoyed it.
    • Out of Control(Suzanne Brockmann) – Started this Tuesday night. Finished it Thursday night. Really enjoyed it.
    • Mission to Mahjundar(Veronica Scott) – Started this Friday afternoon. At 73%

And now it’s a new month, and new round of RoW80, so time to look at some new goals. First, the round:

Plotting:

  • Green Hills & Smoky Fields(this may end up being the series title and I’ll have a different name for the first story): Story Toolkit(it’s already plotted, but that was before I started doing the Toolkit)

Drafting:

  • Heart of Christmas – 30000 words/1st draft
  • Still Burning – 30000 words
  • Whatever It Takes(Jayla & Carisa) – 30000 words
  • High on Loving You – 30000 words
  • By the Gun – 30000 words(this should take me into part 2)
  • Side Projects – Add 30000 words
  • Story a Day(September) – Add 30 stories

Editing:

  • Stained Blood – Beta edits
  • Flames of Renewal – CP edits
  • In the Moonlight – Read Through, Revisions, Polish
  • Hang On – Polish & Submit
  • Midas’ Daughter – Fill-In Details, Read Through, Revise, & Polish

Reading:

  • Listen: 13 books
  • Read: 90 books

And for July(and progress so far since I’ll be going from this list for the rest of the month):

Writing:

  • Heart of Christmas – 10000 words – 269/10000 words
  • Still Burning – 10000 words – 400/10000 words
  • Whatever It Takes – 10000 words – 266/10000 words
  • High on Loving You – 10000 words – 219/10000 words
  • By the Gun – 10000 words – 270/10000 words
  • Side Projects – 10000 words – 0/10000 words

Editing:

  • Stained Blood – Beta edits
  • Flames of Renewal – CP edits
  • In the Moonlight – Read Through & Revise
  • Hang On – Polish & Submit

Reading:

  • Listen: 5 books – 0/5
    • Bitterblue(Kristin Cashore) – Started this Monday morning. Chapter 31/46
  • Read: 30 books – 2/30, 6 this week
    • Mission to Mahjundar(Veronica Scott) – Started this Friday afternoon. Finished it Saturday morning. Enjoyed it, though it felt like there was a “miracle cure” for her blindness, which did bother me.
    • This Montrous Thing(Mackenzi Lee) – Started this Saturday morning. Finished it Saturday night. Loved it!
    • How to Date Dead Guys(Ann M. Noser) – Started this Saturday night. At 22%
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Old Month, New Month, New Round" (6)

  1. Wow, look at all that blue! And 70k for the month! How do you do it?

    Good luck with your goals for this round. 😀

  2. Congrats on the output! That’s impressive.

  3. I know you actually do your goals more by week than by round, but I do love what you have planned here, Fallon. And as always, I love your quotes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

