Home of a mother, wife, writer

And I’m back with the next chapter of Dance with the Devil. If you haven’t started yet, or need to catch up, the previous chapters are all available on Wattpad. And here is the beginning of Chapter 4:

“You sure it’s a good idea to be getting back on your bike?”

I turned from checking my saddlebags—everything was still in place from the day before—and saw Bull standing only yards away, his arms crossed over his chest. “Didn’t know I was required to stay here. Just because you put me on probation didn’t know I’d be treated like a prospect again.”

Bull’s face pulled down into a scowl. “You’re going to want to start watching that mouth, Devil. You’re already on thin ice. Mouthing off to me or any of the other officers isn’t going to endear you to us.”

I couldn’t help but think about Hawk. He was the only one I wanted to endear to. No, no, no. No! I couldn’t think like that. Especially not when facing one of the men who held my future in his hands.

I was sure that was a smirk twisting his lips up. He couldn’t know what I was thinking. Could he? I couldn’t let him. But, I remembered that hurt in Hawk’s eyes once again, and it twisted a knife right through my gut.

“What’s wrong?” Bull dropped his arms and took a step toward him. “Your head still hurting?”

I hadn’t thought I’d reacted physically to that emotional pain, but apparently I had after all. “It’s fine. I need to get out of here.”

Bull studied me for a moment then nodded. “I get it. Despite what you might think, I do understand. Just watch yourself out there.”

“Yeah. Whatever.” I said and pulled my helmet down over my head. If I didn’t get out of here soon, I would lose my mind.

The ride back to my place didn’t do the usual job of clearing my head. In fact, it seemed to be spinning even more. Maybe Bull had been right. I gritted my teeth at that thought.

By the time I made it up the stairs to my apartment, I was pretty sure I was going to be sick. I should have stayed back at the clubhouse a little longer. If I had done that, I’d probably be climbing the walls. Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if I’d been able to get a little more sleep the night before. I hadn’t been able to forget the feel of Hawk’s hand on my elbow, making sure I didn’t fall as we headed to my bedroom. Or the sight of him pulling down the sheets for me.

You can check out the rest of the chapter here. And I’ll be back with Chapter 5 next week.

Comments on: "Fiction Friday: Dance with the Devil – Chapter 4" (2)

  1. Interesting so far. I haven’t (yet) read the previous installments. I’ll have to catch up. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

