Home of a mother, wife, writer

On Sunday, we had my niece’s birthday party. Got groceries, came home and put air conditioners in the window. And thank goodness for that. Apparently even 75F in the house is even too hot for me(I used to let it get to 80 before I’d turn the air conditioner on. My tolerance for heat seems to keep getting less and less).

Monday I had my goals for the day finished around lunch time. Part of that is because I only had two plotting goals for my writing time, 1 of which I got to Sunday night), also the book I was going to read I ended up setting aside because I just didn’t care, it wasn’t drawing me in. So, I had most of Tuesday’s goals done by the time I went to bed Monday night. The same was true for Tuesday(in fact I’m writing this up Tuesday evening). in fact, I had all my writing goals and everything else except picking up the yard(too hot outside) and getting dinner ready for Wednesday done before I went to bed Tuesday.

I was looking through the things the kids brought home from school, including some of the boy’s writing. And found this little “book” he wrote, “The Lost Puppy”(or Pupe as he spelled it). Here’s 2 pages from it:

But, it’s Wednesday now(ok, it will be by the time this posts), which means WiPPet Wednesday!!!! This week, I have 5 paragraphs from Still Burning. This is from the first chapter, and they’re at a picnic at Jess’ parents’ house. The baby is her twin brother’s new daughter. And you may recognize some familiar names. 😉

“I rescued her from the rookie,” Mark said as they reached the table. It should look strange, that bundle wrapped in a pink blanket nestled in his tattooed arms. But, it didn’t, not even with him holding the bottle of milk in one hand.
Nolan laughed. “You make it sound so altruistic. And when are you going to stop calling Austin a rookie? He’s been with the department more than two years.”
Mark shrugged one shoulder. “Ah, he’s still a baby. And he is a rookie on the squad. Same with Brooke,” he said, raising his voice slightly.
Jeremiah Brooke jerked his head toward them then grinned when we realized Mark was ribbing him. His boyfriend, Silas, came up beside him along with their girlfriend, Corrin. She didn’t get that. She couldn’t even keep one man in her life, let alone balance two of them.
She wasn’t romantic enough. She’d been told that enough times. Fuck romance. She liked sex plenty, but once someone started getting all lovey-dovey she was done.

Writing a romance about someone who doesn’t care for romance, this could be interesting. Especially since I don’t want it to turn into a “she was just waiting for the right person” situation.

Now on to my progress for the week so far.

Plotting:

  • High on Your LoveBack stories, Plot summaries, Story Toolkit, Outline
  • Jayla & CarisaPlot summaries, Story Toolkit, Outline – Wrote up plot summaries Sunday night and typed them Monday. Started the Story Toolkit. Got through Initial Concept & started on World Building

Writing:

  • Heart of Christmas(BC Security #3.5) – Add 8000 words – 4122/8000 words, 2425 words this week
    • As he walked out, Alaina turned her gaze to her brother. “You know, sometimes I forget I love you and really start to hate you.” Then, she pushed away from the table as well and followed Caelen. *looks like someone’s overprotectiveness just backfired on him.
  • Still Burning(Hunter Family #4) – Add 10000 words – 6190/10000 words, 1761 words this week
    • Austin watched as the volunteer department’s engine pulled away. “I just wish I knew why she hated me.” The words spilled out before he could catch them.
  • Not Meant to Be(Gilbert, Co #6) – finish 1st draft 
  • By the Gun – Add 8000 words – 2014/8000 words
  • Side Projects – Add 9000 words between them – 7990/9000 words, 2524 words this week
    • Sean & Braeden – 216 words – Braeden dropped his gaze almost instantly, which sent a rock tumbling into Sean’s stomach. That was probably his own fault. He shouldn’t have let Braeden’s reaction to that stupid kiss send him running. But, how could he see him every day with Braeden had made his feelings clear? *Oh, I don’t think they’re all that clear, Sean. 😉
    • Hawk – 275 words – “It’s my father,” I said, after swallowing the huge lump in my throat. “Yesterday he tried to kill me.”
    • Mike & Fadil – 1009(about 750 of these were copied from a piece I wrote during May). “I know. I’m not saying you should regret anything, Mike. I’m just saying you should stop looking back. You have a daughter, but that doesn’t mean you don’t have a future.”
    • Patrick & Sarah – 324 words – That changed things, at least as far as Patrick was concerned. It would have been one thing to him if Sarah had wanted the man here. But, he would not let someone get away with abusing her.
    • Roman – 202 words – And that had totally not been what he’d expected. He’d thought Carlos would be more worried about himself, not some young girl he’d been using. So, maybe it wasn’t what he’d thought. Maybe he’d made assumptions he shouldn’t have. He was going to have to figure that out.
    • Dougal & Shae – 258 words – But, as she took a few more steps down, she saw that she’d been wrong. He was here. Her gaze shot back to Donovan. And his smirk turned to a full-out grin. That damn, dirty bastard. *Oh, yeah, Shae is not happy with her brother & this little set-up.
    • Preggers – 240 words – Lyndi snickered when the waitress had left. “Damn, she’s gotten good since the last time I was in here. Her older sister made passive-aggression an art form. I wasn’t sure Missy had the knack for it, though.”

Editing:

  • Stained Blood – beta edits – edited Chapter 1/26(counting the epilogue as a chapter of its own).
  • Flames of Renewal – CP edits – still waiting
  • In the Moonlight – Pre-revisions & 1st Revisions – finished 4 scenes(added 2623 words). Decided to leave chapters how I have them for now(switching to a new chapter when POV switches between Yasmin & Nola – which  means some are a bit longer than others). I’ll see how the pace seems when I do my read through, which I think will be in July.
  • One Touch(formerly Snow White Twist)Beta edits, Polish, & Submit – contacted 2nd beta reader Sunday night. Hoping to have it back from her soon.
  • Dance with the Devil – Polish 6 chapters  – Polished 4/6 chapters

Reading:

  • Listen: 5 books – 2/5
    • Blood and Betrayal(Lindsay Buroker) – Started this Friday morning. On Chapter 20/25. I’ll probably finish it today or tomorrow.
  • Read: 30 books – 15/30, 2 this week
    • Hellbent(Cynthia/Sara Rayne) – Started this Saturday night. Finished it Sunday evening. Really enjoyed it.
    • Hiding Behind the Couch – Box Set One(Debbie McGowan) – Started this Sunday night but didn’t get too far yet.
    • Delivered Fast(Annabeth Albert) – Started this Monday evening. Finished it Tuesday morning. Liked it. Was about to give up on these books, due to same reasons as an earlier rant(basically in the six books of hers I’ve read – from 2 different series- the word bisexual hasn’t even been used. And it’s been bothering me). But I read a review of the next book and apparently one of the characters(who was a side character in this one) is bi, so I’ll give it a little longer and see how that one is(and it was only .99 so I bought it all ready).
    • This Savage Song(Victoria Schwab) – Started this Tuesday afternoon. At 12%
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Ahead of Myself" (13)

  1. I love the deft way you handled explaining the relationship between Jeremiah, Silas, and Corrin. I’m also glad the trinary have realized it’s better together than apart. I wrote a trinary once (in a fanfiction I’ll eventually be sharing….somewhere….), but it didn’t end well. At ALL. Not because of the arrangement, but because two of the members were badly damaged in ways that led to catastrophe for all of them…and the third member didn’t really understand the extent of the damage…

    As for progress – hooray! I’m chugging along, and, once I finish the homeschool reports and the current revision lesson, I’ll be back to beta and critique stuff while I plot my July novel (the Marilyn and Ophelia story I played with for StoryADay). I’d hoped to finish the reports after Miah and I got back from shopping last night…but life had other plans for me….

    Haven’t slept yet, but hope to see you a little later for sprinting goodness. =)

    • Thanks. I love when characters from my past stories pop up to say hello. 🙂

      Chugging along can be good, too. My MiL likely taking us to a book sale today, so I’m glad I got so much done already and I’ve already started on tomorrow’s goals. I really only have to pick up the yard(which I plan to do before it gets too hot) and get dinner started when we get home later. Not sure if I’ll be around for the #writingcrew sprint, depends on when we leave and how long we’re there. But I may check in. 😉

  2. I agree, the relationships seem very natural. I had to laugh at her assessment, the not being romantic. I’ll bet somewhere in there she’s got a romantic notion or two. 🙂

  3. Emily Witt said:

    Romances about people who don’t like romance can be the best kind! 😀

    I love your boy’s story about the puppy. I’m glad everything was okay. 😉

    And I hear you on the heat. My tolerance is also getting lower, though we’re now going into the colder months and it seems my tolerance for cold is also suffering.

    • I read one recently where the female main character didn’t think she was any good at relationships until she met the “hero” and his apparently magic penis. *rolls eyes* Right.

      I thought it was funny. He can be quite a hoot with the things he comes up with.

      My feelings on heat versus cold = when it’s cold, I can put more layers on. But, you can only take so much off when it’s hot. Though the cold is bothering my joints(particularly my hands) more. We’re just getting into the hot months here.

  4. I am definitely interested in the characters and the relationships between them! I am curious about Jeremiah, Corrin, and Silas – wondering how a 3-people relationship works 🙂
    That’s amazing how you can juggle so many projects at once! I just have one and it drives me crazy at times 🙂
    Looking forward to more WIPpet Wednesdays!
    Cheers,
    Sophie

    • Thanks
      I’ve tried only working on one project on a time, and my mind just doesn’t work well that way it seems.

  5. I love how you defied the convention of the woman liking the sex but not the romance.

    And I agree with Emily; I love romances about people who don’t like romance. 🙂

  6. I love these women already! And what a great story about the ‘pupe’! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

