Home of a mother, wife, writer

Okay, so I’m back with another teaser from In the Moonlight after all. I’ve been adding some new scenes into this the past week. Once I get done with those and see if any chapters need rearranged, I’ll set it aside I think until July, then do a read through and more revisions before getting ready to send it to my CP. But, for now, here’s a little teaser:

“Are you sure you aren’t going to need the car?” I asked Mrs. Thomas once more. She assured me it would be fine, but I didn’t want her to be stranded here.
“Yes, Nola, just go. You can get the groceries while you’re in town. I made out a list. Just grab it before you go.”
She brushed a loose wisp of hair away from my face. “I wish you didn’t have to worry about this,” she told me. “You should get to be a twenty-year-old girl. Not have to try to take care of everyone.”
“I’m still a twenty-year-old no matter what else I do. And if I don’t take care of it, who will? Teagen? Yeah, I don’t ever see that happening.”
“You know that isn’t what I meant. And it shouldn’t have to be your responsibility.”
“Yeah, well, Dad shouldn’t have died in that accident. Mom shouldn’t have gotten sick or waited so long to figure out what was wrong. Ms. Adriane shouldn’t have died. There’s a lot of shouldn’ts, but it doesn’t change what is.”
Mrs. Thomas gave me a quick hug. “I know, darling. I know. I didn’t mean to upset you. Go on. Do what’s needed then come on back home. It will be fine.”
It wouldn’t be. We both knew that. Mom was dying. The drugs I was sending money for would only help delay that. For how long, we weren’t even sure. But, I’d do what I could. It was more than Teagen even attempted. She still hadn’t returned my phone call.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

