Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s been a pretty good week. A little of a slow start, but that was pretty much expected with the holiday. Started JuNoWriMo on Thursday, though that doesn’t change my routine much except for participating in the sprints on Twitter and trying to get all the other stuff done in between them. But, I made some good progress on a couple projects Thursday and Friday.

Saturday morning, I went to check something on my Surface tablet. And it wouldn’t turn on. I’d had it on earlier in the day to post my SOCS & WeWriWa posts, and it was plugged in so I knew the battery wasn’t dead. Finally, I got it to restart, but I apparently hadn’t saved my word count spreadsheet since the previous Friday(not the day before, but more than a week earlier). So, all my word counts for the last week were gone. Thankfully, I already had them recorded in this post. So, it wasn’t too difficult to get them back. Still a pain in the ass.

Then, we went to see the guy who bought my father-in-law’s motorcycle like 10 years ago. That was shortly after FiL died and husband’s stepmom sold it. We wouldn’t have even been able to afford it back then, otherwise my husband probably would have bought it from her. Anyway, the guy’s wife was in an accident recently and he’s looking to sell it. He’s offering it to us for about $3000 less than he’s planning to list it. We’ve been thinking about getting a different bike, though we were looking at a different style. But, we’re going to see if we can swing the money for it or not.

We got lunch and groceries and were on the way home when from the back seat we hear “my tooth fell out”. Sure enough the boy is holding one of his teeth in his hand. Finally. Since he has a tooth just about all the way in right behind it.

That was most of our excitement for the week. The boy did get to go with Daddy last night for a “guy’s night” with some of my husband’s friends. They had a cookout at one the friend’s house. The girl and I stayed home, watched Black Beauty(her choice…which I happened to have on video & DVD) and ate popcorn.

This week is split between two months, so I’ll do a final recap of May before I get into June goals. Most of May’s will be repeat from Wednesday if you read that post, but I did add more after I posted that check-in.

Plotting

  • Still Burning finish Story Toolkit, Outline
  • Jayla & Carisa(Gilbert, Co #7) brainstorm, character back stories, plot summaryget through Story Toolkit: Supporting Characters – This is going onto the backburner for the moment. I’ll pick it back up once I finish Not Meant to Be.
  • High on Your Love(Kurztown #6)brainstorm, character back stories, plot summary, Story Toolkit, Outline. – Finished writing Morgan’s back story, still need to type it up.

Writing

  • Not Meant to Be – Add 53000 words/28 scenes to finish 1st draft – 20681 words/23 scenes finished this month,
  • Still Burning(Hunter Family #4) – Write 70000 words/61 scenes – 1397 words/1 scene finished
  • Heart of Christmas(BC Security #3.5) – Write 30000 words/42 scenes – 1022 words/1 scene finished, 277 words this week.
    • “Stop it you bloody git,” he muttered. He didn’t need any of those perverted thoughts when he was going to sit at her family’s dinner table. *yes, Caelen, but Alaina would love to know you’re having these thoughts 😀
  • By the Gun – Write 50000 words/22 scenes to finish part/book 1(haven’t decided if I’ll write the book in 3 parts or make it 3 different books. Likely will decide when I finish the first part). – 3247 words/4 scenes, 2225 words/2 scenes this week
    • Diego was right, Luke knew. But, he’d always hoped the boy would lose sight of his vow for vengeance. That he would find something more fulfilling to life, as Luke had. If he was right about who he’d seen out there today, it was obvious that hadn’t happened. And that it never would.
  • Side Projects Add 4400 words between all projects – 13084/4400 words, 1548 words this week
    • Patrick & Sarah – 219 words – He had to shake that thought off, too, or he might just find himself turning around and riding back to the farm. But, then he certainly would never have a chance with Sarah. And he really wanted to have that chance. Even if it never came to more than that.
    • Dougal & Shae – 210 words – “Really? What do you plan to do? Drag your little sister out to a bar? Sure and she’d likely kick your arse for that, too.”“Oh, yes, she would,” he said, the grin not fading from his face. “But, that wasn’t my plan anyway. I came to extend an invitation to my parents’ place this weekend.”
    • Roman – 325 words – That would make this an even more precise job he’d have to do. And he wasn’t sure he could do that. The questions he’d planned to ask would likely tip Carlos right over the edge he was already walking. But, he didn’t see any way around it. Even if not for his case, he needed to know so they could help Tereza move on from the way she’d been living.
    • Midas’ Daughter – 206 words – If it was up to her, she’d just cancel the party. She hadn’t wanted it in the first place. But, she knew that wasn’t possible. Her father would never let her get away with it.
    • Preggers – 234 words – She was still doing that. None of his family knew, and she didn’t see any reason to tell them now. She wasn’t going to love anyone else, except her and Darren’s child, anytime soon. *Yeah, Lyndi, just keep telling yourself that. 😉
    • Hawk – 281 words – I wish he never had to do that. But, I knew it could be hard to leave behind armor that had always done well protecting you.
    • Mason & Lila – 73 words – “Lila Isabel Corelli. Step away from that boy this instant.” *Uh oh, middle name has been invoked.

Editing

  • Flames of Renewal – CP Edits
  • In the Moonlight – Transfer from OneNote(on my Surface) to Scrivener(on my laptop) – 27 chapters(there’s actually 32, counting the epilogue, but I’d already started it before) – 27/27 chapters typed up.
  • Stained Blood – Adding this in as I’m starting to get chapters back from beta: Compile comments – 1/26 chapters. Got an email back from CP on this. No comments in the document for this version, but a lot of good things in the email.
  • Snow White Twist – Beta edits, rename, & submitcompiled notes from 1 beta reader to the main document. Still waiting to hear from other beta reader. Decided on the title ‘One Touch’ for this.
  • Dance with the Devilread through, make revisions, & polish –  Polished 4/10 chapters.
  • Beta Read Read 58 chapters(total of 73, but that’s what I have left) & return to author

Blogging

  • Story a Day – Write 31 stories – 31/31 stories written, 4 this week.
    • Meeting Jonas – Isaac meets Jonas for first time. Warning for mention of child abuse & self-harm.
    • Memorial Day – Toby visits the cemetery to honor those who have been lost.
    • Your Call – Some back story to By the Gun. What will Luke do when there’s trouble immediately following Arcelia agreeing to marry him?
    • Your Book – Silas has a surprise for Corrin. This one is a little steamy and follows sometime after the end of Playing with Fire.

Reading

  • Listen: 5 books – 6/5 for the month, 0 this week
    • The Immortal Irishman(Timothy Egan) – I don’t read or listen to much non-fiction. But this one was the daily deal back on St. Patrick’s day and it combines two of my interests, Irish history and the Civil War. On Chapter 17/24. I’m really enjoying it and it’s inspiring me to pick up a story I wrote years ago and have replotted that takes place in the same time period.
    • Heartless(Gail Carriger) – Started this Monday morning. On Chapter 5/16
  • Read: 31 books – 31.5/31, 2 this week
    • Death at Peony House(Krista Walsh) – I started this Sunday afternoon. At 46%. This was still in my Unlimited folder, though I think the series is out of KU now. So this will be my “extra” book for now. Really enjoying it(so good incentive to finish my other books for the week and get back to it).
    • The Star-Touched Queen(Roshani Chokshi) – Started this Monday morning. Finished it Tuesday afternoon. Absolutely lovely.
    • A Copper Ridge Christmas(Maisey Yates) – Started this Tuesday morning. Finished it Tuesday afternoon. It was a quick, enjoyable read.
    • By the Hour(Roni Loren) – Started this Tuesday evening. Finished it Wednesday night. Absolutely loved it.
    • Festive Seduction(Sidney Bristol) – This is a short story I downloaded for free some time ago. I have over 100 books in my ‘free’ collection on my kindle, so I decided I’d start adding them to my monthly to-read list. Got to 22% Wednesday night.

Crafting

  • Knit: Duo Cable Hat – Finished this Tuesday night. Now, putting the yarn away until at least September.

And now for June’s goals:

Plotting:

  • High on Your Love – Back stories, Plot summaries, Story Toolkit, Outline – Wrote Anna’s & Kacy’s back stories Saturday morning during some JunoWriMo sprints. Just need to type them up now.
  • Jayla & Carisa – Plot summaries, Story Toolkit, Outline

Writing:

  • Heart of Christmas(BC Security #3.5)Add 8000 words – no June words
  • Still Burning(Hunter Family #4) – Add 10000 words – 2120/10000 words
    • But, the minute he’d mentioned taking her to a family gathering, she’d beat it out of his apartment. And she hadn’t returned any of his calls. It was always like that. He should have gotten the point already.
      She was never going to love him. *I just want to give Austin a hug here and tell him it’s not him, it’s Jess and the issues she’s trying to work through.
  • Not Meant to Be(Gilbert, Co #6) – Add 10000 words or finish 1st draft – 3096/10000 words
    • “My thoughts exactly,” Garren said. “Well, the first. I don’t have a clue what else you said, but I’m guessing it’s bad.”
  • By the Gun Add 8000 words – no June words
  • Side Projects – Add 9000 words between them – 1360/9000 words
    • Mike & Fadil – 422 words – “Right,” Mike said, his voice sounding hollow. When Fadil looked up, the other man wasn’t looking at him anymore. In fact, he had his gaze riveted on the counter, moving some papers around. A task that probably wasn’t necessary.
    • Jacob & Matthew – 374 words – That last wouldn’t please his father, but he also wouldn’t say anything about it. If he found out the truth, though, well, Jacob didn’t know what he’d do. And that’s what worried him.
    • Hang On – 289 words – We went most of the way like that. We were close enough together a good part of the time, that we could have carried on a conversation. But, just being out here tended to be enough for both of us. And neither wanted to cause a misstep because of a lack of focus.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 275 words – She did not wish to stay close if it meant no longer seeing him.

Editing:

  • Stained Blood – beta edits – edited Chapter 1/26(counting the epilogue as a chapter of its own). I’ll continue to work on these as they come in. This is my first priority editing project. I’ll work on the others as I get the chance.
  • Flames of Renewal – CP edits – still waiting
  • In the Moonlight – Revise – Plan to start on this next week.
  • One Touch(formerly Snow White Twist) – Beta edits, Polish, & Submit – still waiting to hear back from 2nd beta reader.
  • Dance with the Devil – Polish 6 chapters  – Polished 2/6 chapters

Reading:

  • Listen: 5 books – 0/5
    • Heartless(Gail Carriger) – On Chapter 13/16
    • The Immortal Irishman(Timothy Egan) – On Chapter 17/24
  • Read: 30 books – 3/30
    • Death at Peony House(Krista Walsh) – At 46%
    • Festive Seduction(Sidney Bristol) – Finished this Thursday afternoon. Liked it but not going to continue with the series.
    • Connection Error(Annabeth Albert) – Started this Thursday afternoon. Finished it Friday afternoon. Really enjoyed it but starting to wonder if the author writes any main characters who aren’t gay. I’ve read books from 2 of her series now, and none are bi or anything else, not even side characters. In this one there was a hint that a minor character was trans, but that’s it. I like the books, but yeah, that’s been bothering me.
    • An Unseen Attraction(KJ Charles) – Started this Friday night. Finished it Saturday night. Loved it.
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Beginning of June" (8)

  1. Sorry to hear about the wordcount spreadsheet. Technology is so weird sometimes. I recently had all of my folders disappear from my computer. Everything. The computer is two years old, so I knew it wasn’t age related. Rebooted, and everything came back. Too weird, but gave me quite a scare.

    Lots of work this week! Yay!

    Been meaning to get Star-Touched Queen. *makes note to actually buy it*

    • I’m just glad I had them all recorded here so it was easy enough to fix the issue.
      Thanks. It was a pretty good week.

  2. Wow! You’ve been, and continue to be, busy!

    I can’t imagine not having characters with a variety of orientations. One of my characters had a serious revelation regarding orientation (he’d been using one label, only to find out that he’s more attracted by the person than the gender of the person. It’s a nature he shares with a friend of mine. I’d never heard it before she explained it, but it was intriguing.

    I should be able to get back to Stained Blood a bit later in the week (and, heads up, will be nominating your Isaac and Jonas story for StoryFest, because it took my breath away in all kinds of ways!).

    Looking forward to seeing what this month holds for you!

    • Thanks! Things have definitely been going well.
      At one time, I may not have even noticed it, and on a book by book basis probably wouldn’t, because it’s not like you can have everything in one book. But, I’ve read 2-3 books in two different series and it seems like the characters are gay or straight and that’s it.

      Aw, yay and thanks!

      • Yeah, I don’t like when “straight” or “gay” are the only available options. Many people – including some I love dearly – just don’t fit neatly into any category, or into several. Better to have a wide range, I feel, because that’s how humans work. =D

  3. The sheer number of projects you have going is amazing, Fallon. Always amazing… Just curious, do you do a lot of physical books or audiobooks for your reading time? Preference?

    • Thanks. I’m hoping to finish a couple of those side projects this month, but I seem to keep adding to the list. 🙂

      I read a mix of things. This month I have 5 paperbacks on my list and 25 e-books. And 5 audiobooks. I don’t really have much of a preference.

      • Ah. I was wondering, because I find I really have a hard time focusing on e-books, and anytime I pick up a physical book-book lately, it seems the kidlet or hubby suddenly need to talk desperately… I figured I’d find out work works better for other moms.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

