Home of a mother, wife, writer

This will probably be the last teaser I share from In the Moonlight, at least for a little while. I’m currently typing up the last chapter and then I just have the epilogue left. So, I should be done with that this week, maybe even before the end of the month. For today, I have a bit from what I’ve been typing up this morning. Warning: There are spoilers in here, so if you don’t want to know who the bad guy is or what the end might look like, you may not want to read on(and of course, this is still a very rough draft, so things may change).

Nola squeezed my hand then once against stepped in front of m. What was she doing? She was not going to sacrifice herself for me. Not like Charlotte had done for Josephine. I hadn’t realized that’s what had happened until the thought went through my head. Almost like it had been put there.
I was not going to let that happen. Not to her. Not when things finally seemed to be going okay. I didn’t know how this could be happening. “You need to go,” I told him as I stepped up beside her again. From the corner of my eye, I could see her mouth turn up. Yeah, I thought we were on the same page. We’d do this as partners. That’s how we’d do everything from now on. I turned my attention back on Foss. “You aren’t welcome here. If you don’t turn around and walk right back out of here, I’ll call the police to see that you’re taken out.”
His sneer turned to more of a smirk. “They’ll never get here in time. And then this place will finally belong to my family. Like it should have all those years ago. If Josephine would have married my great-great-great grandfather like she was supposed to. He would have done it even after she’d betrayed him with that servant girl. All he needed was for her to produce an heir. Instead she tried to run off before he could accomplish that.”
“From what I’ve gathered, her managing to sleep with him would have been the accomplishment.”
That was the wrong this to say with a possibly deranged man with a gun standing in front of me. And I knew it as soon as his face hardened. He started to lift the gun. “You’re as bad as she was. You can’t just give me what I want, can you? This house should be mine! If she hadn’t betrayed him, it would have. My great-great grandfather would have been the heir to both families’ fortunes and her brother wouldn’t have felt forced to take on that whore and pass her son off as the heir. This should all be mine.” He took a step closer. “Even your father agrees with me.”
Those words were worse than the sight of the gun. I stumbled back a step. “He did send you here,” I finally managed to say. “I knew you were lying.”
“I didn’t lie,” he insisted. “Not that first time. But, when I realized there was strain there, I figured I could use it to my advantage. He’s willing to sign the house over to me. All I have to do is get you to go home where you belong.”
I laughed. Again, probably not the best thing to do in the face of a deranged man with a gun. Nola whispered my name, I could hear her fear in her voice. I had to find a way to get us out of this mess, or we might find both our bodies at the bottom of the stairs.
“You know, I said, trying to keep my voice as calm as possible, “You won’t get away with it like your ancestor did. We have things like DNA and ballistics that they didn’t have back in that time. You won’t have this house, because you’ll be sitting in a prison cell the rest of you life for double murder.”
The sneer had come back, and even my words didn’t make it leave his face. “Not when they think it’s a murder-suicide.”
“That’s never going to happen.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

