Home of a mother, wife, writer

Caelen stared down at the scarred wood in front of him. He wanted to go back up to the house, tell Alaina he was sorry, he hadn’t meant any of things he said, all he wanted was to be with her.

But, he couldn’t do that. It would only put them right back to where they were. Alaina at risk, and him still not deserving her. So instead he took out a piece of paper and started writing. Maybe he could make it so she could understand why he’d had to do this.

Dear Alaina,

As I hurt you, I know you may not even read this. I would not blame you.

Do not believe any of it is your fault. None at all.

I am sorry for it all. I did not know of a better way to keep you

Safe. I wish I could have.

Don’t think I don’t want you. That is the farthest thing from the truth.

All I want is you safe and happy. I do not see me making you either.

Nothing would make me happier if I could. But it’s not to be.

God. This is a lot harder than I thought it would be. I know

Exactly how much you are worth, or I would not have done this. Even if I

Regret losing you because of this, I know it would have been the right thing.

Only thing I regret is that look in your eyes when I said we were done.

Unless he goes away, this is the way it must be. No matter how

Sorry I am for that. And please know that I am. Always, Caelen.

He looked at the letter once he’d signed it. This was probably stupid. He should just tell her. But, she probably wouldn’t even speak to him now. If her brother even let him get close. And he was afraid if he wrote it out plainly, and his father did get a hold of it, she would be at even more risk.

He couldn’t take the chance. So he folded the letter and tried to think of how he could get it to her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Story a Day prompt was to include a hidden message in your story. It shouldn’t be too easy to figure out the message Caelen was trying to give to Alaina. I’ve just started writing their story this morning, but this would come closer to the end. Not sure I’ll include it in the actual story, though. We’ll see.

 

Comments on: "Story a Day: Day 24 – Hidden Message" (4)

  1. […] Hidden Message – Caelen writes a letter to Alaina with a hidden message, trying to explain why he acted the way he did(which I haven’t written that part, so I only have a vague idea of what he did). […]

  2. It took me a bit, but I found it! Sent shivers down my spine, too, because I KNOW your idea of what constitutes danger….well done!

    • yeah. And I was trying to keep to Caelen’s Irish voice, though I’m not sure how well I managed that. I may have to find some Irish accents to listen to while I write this. Oh darn. What a chore. 😉

  3. […] Hidden Message – Caelen writes a letter to Alaina with a hidden message, trying to explain why he acted the way he did(which I haven’t written that part, so I only have a vague idea of what he did). […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

