Home of a mother, wife, writer

“I don’t know what your problem is.”

Morgan glanced at the woman he’d once thought he could have made a life with. For about five seconds after she told him she was pregnant. She didn’t care. She had never cared. “Do I really need to make a list?”

“You don’t have to be so cruel about it.”

“Cruel? How am I the one being cruel? You left our six-year-old daughter home by herself so you could go on a date. You don’t call me when the babysitter cancels when you know I’d be willing to have extra time with Raina. You conveniently forget when it’s my weekend to have her, yet threaten to call the police if I’m even five minutes late bringing her back.”

“Well, you’ve taken care of that, haven’t you?” she snapped at him. “You and your precious lawyer made sure I can’t even see her unless someone else is there.”

“The last time she was under your supervision, and I use that term loosely, she fell down the stairs and broke her arm.”

“I still fail to see how that is my fault. She should have stayed in bed.”

Morgan was having an extremely hard time hanging on to his temper. But, he knew it was necessary. If he lost it, she’d probably use it to say he was the one who was a danger to their daughter the next time they went to court. “She was looking for you. But, you weren’t even home. She could have suffered a lot worse than a broken arm because you put your pleasure before her needs.”

She opened her mouth, but he couldn’t sit there and listen to any more of her excuses. “I’m done,” he said, grabbing the receipt from his lunch. He’d already given Anna the money to pay for it. “I have to go pick our daughter up from school. If you have anything else to say, you can relay it through Brian.”

“I don’t want to speak to your lawyer,” she insisted. “We can settle this ourselves.”

“Obviously we can’t,” Morgan said, “or we wouldn’t be going through this in the first place.” he left the diner, but he knew this wasn’t the end of this. Kacy wouldn’t give up until she got her way.

He just hoped he could protect Raina from as much of the fallout as possible. She didn’t need to understand yet that her mother only saw her as a weapon to use against him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Story a Day prompt was to write a story in the form of a list. So, this isn’t so much that. But, more lead-up to High on Your Love, the story I started plotting yesterday. Morgan’s shown up in the last couple stories in this series, so I know some of what’s been leading to this.

Comments on: "Story a Day: Day 23 – “The List”" (4)

  1. […] The List – Morgan tells his ex exactly what his problems with her are. […]

  2. Wow! I think it’s a powerful list! And poor Raina! Thank goodness she’s got one parent who knows how to care for her! ❤

    • Thanks. Yeah, Morgan and Raina showed up in Love Who You Love and Break on Me, and I just want to give them both hugs. Can’t wait to give Morgan and Anna their happy ending and Raina two parents who care about her. 🙂

  3. […] The List – Morgan tells his ex exactly what his problems with her are. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

