Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I shared the last snippet from Dance with the Devil last week and have the first 262 words on Hawk’s story. Coming in between those, though, is the one I wrote for the A-Z challenge, which is Icarus & Cassie’s. This is the only one of these I’ve written in 3rd person(which is what I write most of my other stories in) and also the only one in the series with an alternating POV(again, how I write most of my stories). I’ll be sharing from that for this month while I build up more words in Hawk’s story. For now, here’s 8 sentences from Chapter 1. They’ve gotten some information that isn’t looking too good for them.

Icarus hadn’t thought Trace’s face could go any paler, but he proved him wrong once again. “Don’t let him get Mom. Whatever you do, don’t-”

“Stop, Trace,” Icarus said, even the thought sending a sharp blade right through his chest. “You have to know the last thing I’d do was let any harm ever come to your mother again.”

Trace didn’t say a word, though, as he headed out into the hallway. Icarus understood. Sometimes there were some promises it was completely impossible to keep.

Who is after Trace’s mom? Will Icarus be able to keep this promise?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Some Promises”" (20)

  1. “…completely impossible to keep.” Yikes! That sounds foreboding! 🙂 Good hook.

  2. That’s a great last line. It would’ve been appropriate for next Sunday, Mother’s Day … although I’d understand if you don’t want to put Mom in danger on that particular day.

  3. Ooh, you’ve got me thinking that he won’t be able to keep his promise after all. Nice job!

  4. Brilliant hook, Fallon! I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

  5. Oh wow, what an exciting start! You sure like to keep your characters constantly on the edge, don’t you? 🙂 I approve, of course!

  6. Interesting hints of much bigger problems going on here – excellent excerpt!

  7. nancygideon said:

    Nice tease! Sets up characters and questions I, for one, want to see answered.

  8. Ever again? What happened to his mom? This snippet is full of intriguing hints at past and future conflict.

  9. Very interesting! I look forward to more.

  10. What a great hook that last line is! Very intriguing snippet!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

