Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today’s prompt for Story a Day is a sort of fill-in-the-blank thing.

Mx [1. a non-gendered title, in case you’re wondering. Now I’m wondering how to pronounce it…].___________ in the _________ room with a __________.

So, mine will be Mr. Fadil Asker in the pharmacy with a suspicious pharmacy tech. This is for little novella I’m working on for side characters in one of my novels.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fadil walked into the pharmacy, taking in the surroundings with a quick glance. It had been a long time since he’d been here. In this town at least. He couldn’t ever remember being in here. If he had, it would have been when they’d first lived in Kurztown, before his dad’s first transfer when he’d returned to active duty. Fadil didn’t remember that time at all He’d been maybe three years old. He was sure the pharmacy had changed since then.

It may not have even been a pharmacy back then.

A man came out from the back room, smiling, his teeth white against his darker skin. The smile faded away as he looked at Fadil. He was used to that. Probably thought he was a terrorist. He’d gotten plenty of  those comments in high school and through  college. They didn’t care that he’d been born right here, or that his father was a veteran.

“What can I do for you?” the man-Mike, the gleaming tag pinned to his shirt read–asked.

“I’m here to pick up prescriptions for Layla Asker.”

Mike’s gaze had started to soften, and Fadil almost thought there’d been some interest in them, but at that, they sharpened again. “We’re only authorized to release them to her sister, Janine Ferguson. You obviously aren’t her, so I can’t help you.”

“I was supposed to be added to that list.”

“Nothing’s been put into the system saying that. I’m sorry.”

Fadil wanted to bare his teeth and snarl. Not at this man, he was just doing his job. But, at Aunt Janine. She had never liked him. Sometimes he wasn’t even sure she liked his mother. They were only half-sisters and had never been close. He figured the only reason she’d stayed the last five years was out of some sense of obligation. But, now her health was deteriorating, too. At least that was the excuse she gave when she told him he needed to come home.

“Aunt Jan said she was going to take care of it before she left,” he said. No need to show this man all their family drama. “My mom needs that medication.”

“Layla’s your mom? You’re Fadil?”

He didn’t know why that seemed so surprising to the man. “Yes. Aunt Jan was moving to some community because she couldn’t take care of herself and mom anymore. So, I moved back here. But, how am I supposed to take care of her when I can’t do something basic like get her medicine. It’s not like I’m going to build a fucking bomb with it.”

“All right,” Mike said. “Calm down. I think we got off on the wrong foot here.”

“You think?” Fadil snapped at him. “I know what you’re thinking.”

“No,” he said, his voice soft. “I’m pretty sure you don’t. Look, I know what it’s like being judged without someone knowing you, so  try not to do it myself. Trust me, being black, bisexual, and the son of a drunk is enough in this town to get you eyed warily. Let me talk to my boss and see if we can call your mom. If everything checks out, I’ll get you authorized, and you can take her stuff with you. Just give me a couple minutes.”

“Thanks,” Fadil said,surprised he could get that much out. What Mike had said still bouncing around in his head.

Maybe that had been interest he’d seen in his eyes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This knocks two things off today’s goal list, since I planned to write 100 words on Mike & Fadil’s story. I well exceeded that one!

Comments on: "Story a Day: Day 4 – Suspicions" (5)

  1. […] Not following the prompt for today’s Story a Day. Instead I’m following up with Mike & Fadil. […]

  2. […] Mike – a continuation of Day 4’s Suspicions […]

  3. […] Mike – a continuation of Day 4’s Suspicions […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

