Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. Happy Easter to anyone who celebrates the holiday in any way. We’ll be bouncing between my step-mother-in-law’s, my mom’s, and my husband’s aunt’s houses for the day.  It’s going to be a long busy day and hopefully a not too stressful one. Which for me means getting a lot of reading done while trying to avoid people. Anyway, I bet you’re here to see what happens to Hawk and Devil after last week’s snippet. So, here we go. One of these other men just said an asshole-ish thing about Hawk and Devil dying together. And this picks up from there.

I wanted to lunge toward them, but even from his position, Hawk was able to send me a warning look. ‘Don’t do it,’ it said. Like Hawk could read my mind. He knew me well enough, it was probably close to mind reading.

“Nothing romantic about death,” I snapped back.

I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry. The words kept running through my head even as I couldn’t stop all the others from pouring out of my mouth, and I was afraid that tendency now was going to get the man I loved killed.

Behind me, I finally heard the roar of bikes, but I still couldn’t relax. Two more of the guns turned toward Hawk’s head. I was sure I was going to have to watch them take him away from me, and I wasn’t sure I’d survive it even if they didn’t put any bullets in me.

Is this the other Riders coming? Will something happen to Hawk? Or will they get out of this mess? I’ll have at least one more snippet from this one for you.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Read my Mind”" (11)

  1. Oh, this is a mean place to leave it. Hope the others can help before Hawk is hurt. *gnaws on fingernails*

  2. Tense, very tense. I’m on the edge of my chair for sure – well done snippet!

  3. nancygideon said:

    Such angst and anguish! Beautiful scene, Fallon!

  4. If he could read minds, he’d probably know that telling Devil ‘Don’t do it’ was probably useless.

  5. OMG! You can’t leave us here! Can’t wait for more!

  6. Diane Burton said:

    Ditto what the others said. Cruel to leave us at this point.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

