Home of a mother, wife, writer

April is off to a pretty good start. I’ve been sticking with my write during 1st half hour everything else during second half hour routine. Yesterday I even had everything except for my reading done by lunch time. So, it’s definitely going well.

I finished the first draft of Stay a Little Longer on Friday. I started working on Playing with Fire Saturday morning(with a Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt that I ended up working into the second scene of the story). There’s quite a few of little pieces I’m working on stitching together from the Just Jot It January pieces I wrote with these characters. But, I’ve gotten some completely new scenes as well. I’m typing all new words in blue so it’ll be easier to keep track of how many words I’ve added for Camp NaNo.

Since it is Wednesday, that means it’s WiPPet Time!! And for this month I’ll be sharing from Playing with Fire. Today I have 26 sentences(4+5+17). Jeremiah has just walked in to the apartment to find Silas and Corrin arguing/debating, which is apparently a common occurrence.

Jeremiah laughed and shook his head then put the bag of food on the counter. “You two are impossible.”
Corrin saw Silas eying Jeremiah as he moved around the kitchen, and something shifted inside her. She couldn’t blame him. She’d found herself eying Jeremiah the same way. No matter how many times she tried to stop herself.
Silas sighed and slipped the shirt over his head. “I need to get to the library if I’m going to find a table to study at.”
“Why don’t you eat something first,” Jeremiah said, tossing a wrapped sandwich to him from the bag. “Don’t even tell me you don’t already have all the information memorized. I know you better than that.”
The tips of Silas’ ears turned red, but she didn’t notice the flush anywhere else. “I’ll just eat it on the go,” he said.
She noticed Jeremiah watch him until he left the kitchen. Then, he busied himself with taking the rest of the food out of the bag. She told herself she was seeing things that weren’t there. She knew Jeremiah was bisexual, but him and Silas were just best friends. He’d assured her of that. She wouldn’t have stayed here so long if she thought she was coming between them.
“Eat,” he told her, setting another sandwich in front of her. “I know you have to work tonight. And also knowing you, you won’t leave that computer until you have to get ready. So, just eat the sandwich.”
He was in his caretaker mode, which meant his shift had probably been rough. So, she didn’t even bother to argue with him. Just unwrapped the sandwich and took a large bite of egg, ham, and cheese between a flaky croissant.

And as for how things are going so far this week:

Plotting

  • Heart of Christmas – finish Story Toolkit, Outline in scrivener – 15/21 sections of the Story Toolkit done. 223 words this month, 2/7 Toolkit sections this week, 351 words.
  • Still Burning – Brainstorm, Character back stories, plot summary, through Story Toolkit: Romance Arc

Writing

  • Playing with Fire – Add 73000 words/66 scenes(some of these include bits from my Just Jot It posts in January, they may be fleshed out to scenes of their own or merged into other scenes, but I’m counting them all for right now). – 5254 words/8 finished scenes for the month, 4917 words/8 scenes this week
  • Side Projects – add 4000 words between all projects. – 445/4000 words for the month, 445 for the week.
    • Mike & Fadil – 100 words – Not that his father would appreciate any of it. But, just because the old man refused to talk to Mike didn’t mean he was just going to let him starve himself. 
    • Hang On – 105 words – Ian flopped back in his seat and crossed his arms, staring out the side window. I didn’t think he was really angry, Ian never was for very long at all. But, I still wished I knew what was going on with him. 
    • Patrick & Sarah – 127 words – No, that was foolish. She could stand on her own. She’d been doing it for long enough.
    • Midas’ Daughter – 113 words – Flip let out a snort at that. Prince Charming. Isn’t that what he’d called the guy the first day he’d shown up? Maybe there was something to it. Flip certainly could never come up to meet that standard. If that’s what she wanted, he was a lost cause.

Editing

  • Stained Blood – Adjust chapters(some are really long after adding new scenes in), double-check for missing details, 50 search & destroy items, send to readers – Adjusted chapters(went from 20 to 26 counting the epilogue) and filled in a few missing details(added 7 words). 3/50 search & destroy items(cut 239 words).
  • Snow White Twist – rename, polish 48 search & destroy items, send to readers
  • Flames of Renewal – CP Edits once I get it back
  • In the Moonlight – transfer from One Note to Scrivener(on two different computers)

Blogging

  • A-Z posts: Draft 13 posts
  • A-Z posts: Edit 18 posts – 5/18. I, J, K, L, & M are edited and scheduled to post. This is caught up with what I have drafted so far.
  • A-Z posts: Post 25 posts – 3/25 posted. You can find links to all current ones on my theme reveal post(I’m updating as they go live)

Reading

  • Listen: 5 books – 0/5, 0 this week
    • Fire(Kristin Cashore) – On Chapter 5(audible has these chapters split up weird. There are more than one in what it says is a chapter. So I’m just doing what’s on top of the screen on my phone). It’s interesting, but I’m almost 3 hours in and it doesn’t feel like a lot’s really happened. I’ll give it at least a little longer. I’m almost 6 hours in now and still doesn’t feel like a lot is happening. Taking a break from it to listen to something else.
    • The Broken Brooch(Katherine Lowry Logan) – Started this Monday. I’m on Chapter 32. About half an hour left to listen to. Will finish it today then I’ll switch back to Fire for the rest of the week(or I finish it).
  • Read: 30 books – 4/30, 2 this week
    • Hammer of the Gods(Christina Ochs) – this is book 3 in her Desolate Empire series. I got the boxed set, but I’ve already read the first 2 separately, so I jumped right to this one on my phone. I’ll read it in the between moments. I’m on Chapter 51/166(If I counted right. The chapters are labeled with POV characters’ names instead of numbers).
    • Do You Want to Start a Scandal(Tessa Dare) – I’d started a different one Monday morning but didn’t care for it, so moved this one up the list. Finished it Monday night.
    • Bad News Cowboy(Maisey Yates) – Started this Monday night. Finished it Tuesday night. Enjoyed it.
    • Vengeance Road(Erin Bowman) – Just started this morning. At 3%. Not too sure about this one yet.

Crafting

  • Knit: Duo Cable Hat – started this Monday. Finished the ribbing for the brim and the increase row.
  • Crochet: Crystal Drops Beanie
  • Loom: Newborn Loom Knit Baby Hat
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Stitching Together" (9)

  1. Nice goals, and already some systematic progress. Looks like the new plan is a winner, at least right now. Hooray!

    • Thanks. I’m pretty happy. I even got through all today’s goals so started on tomorrow’s already. I do love getting ahead.

  2. Awesome progress, Fallon!

  3. Definitely sounds like your routine is paying off.

    Love the snippet…looks like it could be a very interesting dynamic there.

  4. I have bookmarked the Stream of Consciousness Saturday blog – it’s possibly I may have a finished first draft by the end of the week and be looking for something to distract me for a while before I start revisions.

    Nice snippet – seems like it’s a bit of an awkward situation, whether Jeremiah’s aware of it or not.

  5. […] of Playing with Fire, it’s WiPPet Time again!! I’ve shared snippets from Corrin’s POV & Silas’. So, I guess now it’s time to get something from Jeremiah’s. For […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

