Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil, and probably will at least the next couple weeks, maybe even through April. Though I might share a couple from Staring at the Sun, which is what I’m working on for this year’s A-Z challenge(and is Icarus & Cassie’s story). For this week, I’ve skipped a few paragraphs down from what I shared last week. Devil wants to go back for Hawk. Bull’s trying to stop him. Needless to say, it doesn’t go over well.

“Get out of my way,” I told him.

“No, Devil, you have to listen to the rest. We have to do things the right way.”

“And that’s just leaving him there?” I shouted at him, even though he was right in front of me. “You know what they’ll do to him. He’s not going to walk back out of there; they’ll destroy him.” My voice cut on the last words. I didn’t even want to think about what they’d do, what they might have already done. “We have to go back for him.”

Are they going to leave Hawk? What are they doing to him? Will they get him back?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Destroy Him”" (16)

  1. Ypu get the emotional tone just right, Fallon. Great job.
    I have a sneaky feeling that Hawk is going to go maverick on this.

  2. Devil is facing a big decision. I trust he’ll make the right decision.

  3. You really capture Devil’s desperation here. I hope he’ll be able to do something to help Hawk.

  4. I’m with Devil on this one, although he’s so upset I have to wonder how effective he’d be in rescuing anyone. Great snippet!

  5. nancygideon said:

    Got to admire him for his loyalty even when danger to all is involved.

  6. How frustrating! I definitely get the feeling Devil isn’t going to go along and “do things the right way”.

  7. Wow–this is emotionally wrenching. A gut-punch. Great writing, Fallon. 🙂

  8. So much intensity in just a few lines!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

