Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who loves to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil, though I’m busy writing the next one as part of next month’s A-Z challenge(I like having the posts done ahead of time if I can). I have through Week 2 drafted right now and working on editing them and getting them ready to schedule. But, for now, here’s a little more with Devil. Last week, he was sure Hawk was sensing some trouble. This week, we’ve got the trouble. 10 sentences(and I got creative to make it all fit).

“Gather up,” he said and waited until we did just that, and I looked around, but Hawk still hadn’t joined us. As Icarus opened his mouth to say something else, I pushed through the crowd.

“Not everyone is here yet,” I told him. His gaze turned to me, and I could see the sympathy in his eyes. “No,” I said, taking a step back, knowing exactly what that meant; this couldn’t be happening.

”Devil, just relax.”

“No,” I shot back, knowing I was walking a fine line, but I just couldn’t care about that right now. “Hawk’s not here, if he’s not here…” I couldn’t finish that thought through the boulder suddenly lodged in my throat.

“They have him.”

Who has Hawk? What are they going to do to him? What will Devil do to get him back? I should have more on that next week.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “They Have Him”" (15)

  1. Now that cannot be good, Fallon! Excellent dramatisation of the scene. Huge energy, and that very big last sentence.

  2. Good internal struggle. You captured their sense of impending doom

  3. Devil has great instincts. Hope Hawk is ok!

  4. Uh oh, loved the way you built up to the fateful climax and realization that Hawk’s in trouble (even if we don’t know the full extent as yet). Well done!

  5. Interesting. I didn’t realize anyone was trying to capture Hawk.

  6. nancygideon said:

    What a cliffhanger! It doesn’t look good. Nice job, Fallon.

  7. Oh no! Staying tuned to read more! I do love your description of Devil’s reaction when the man he loves is apparently in quite a bit of jeopardy.Nicely done!

  8. Diane Burton said:

    Uh oh. Who’s got Hawk and what are they going to do to him? Your snippets keep making me ask questions. Good job.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

