Home of a mother, wife, writer

Gotta love the time change for Daylight Savings Time. Or not. Totally not. Although “springing forward” means my kids might actually almost sleep in. 😉 Actually, they’re both still up before 7, which yesterday would have been before 6. So, not much on the sleeping in thing.

I had a pretty good week, progress-wise. Met all my writing goals, got all my reading done, started a new short story I plan to submit for this year’s World Unknown Review(it’s the second one I’ve started toward that, hopefully this one fares better). Today our church is doing a 1st responder’s appreciation thing so we’ll be going to that. Then, we’re going down to meet my family for lunch for my grandpa’s birthday. So, that will be a big chunk of my Sunday. Hoping I can still get stuff done around it.

Plotting:

  • Primary: Heart of Christmas(BC Security 3.5) – write back stories, plot summary, and complete Story Toolkit – 1496 words on Alaina’s back story for this month, 1069 since last Sunday and finished it. Will be starting Caelen’s back story this week
  • Secondary: Still Burning(Hunter Family #4) – Brainstorm

Writing:

  • Primary: Stay a Little Longer – add 45000 words/finish 38 scenes – 20363 words/45000, 18/42 scenes for the month. 13790 words/12 scenes since Sunday
    • Still, Jess had made promises to herself. That she was done with men. That she wouldn’t bring another into her kids’ lives. That she had to put them first. The last was the only one that truly mattered, though. And she was so tired. Tired of acting like she was doing more than keeping her mouth and nose above water. Tired of doing it all on her own. Tired of sleeping alone. Just tired.
      So she didn’t listen to Terrall’s warning. This didn’t have to mean anything more than two lonely people coming together. “I’m not asking you for forever,” she said, sliding her hands up his stomach under his shirt. “My boys are at my parents’ tonight, and Alex is still at her dad’s. And I don’t want to be alone.”
  • Secondary: Side Projects – 5000 words, edit Chapter 1 of Patrick & Sarah & Chapter 1 of Tavin & Haiwee, read through 9 chapters of Snow White Twist(there’s actually 10, but I read through chapter 1 in February) – 2335/5000 words so far this month. 1225 words since Sunday. 56/63 comments applied to Patrick & Sarah. 26/51 comments applied to Tavin & Haiwee, have read through 5/9 in Snow White Twist(2 this week)
    • Midas’ Daughter – 161 words – “You even think about hitting me, boy, and you will find yourself out of a job, a roof, a family, faster than you can blink.”
      He did just that—blink—as he stared up at his boss. “I-I’m sorry, sir,” he finally managed to stammer. “I didn’t know it was you. You startled me.”
    • Patrick & Sarah – 87-ish words – Her face was still drawn in hard lines, but he thought her eyes had softened with…confusion, maybe. Just how had people been treating her in the years since her husband had died? But, something about these two pulled at him. He couldn’t explain it.Patrick had fought in the war, too, and had seen too many men fall. Men who had left widows and possibly even orphans. He’d never worried about helping any of them before.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – -12 words – Tavin couldn’t help but smile over at her. He could hear the affection and pride in her voice when she spoke of her brother. In his mind, that meant he had to be a good guy.  *some of the few new words I wrote(32, then I cut 44)
    • Roman – 143 words – “I’m sorry,” he said, even though she hadn’t even spoken yet. He started unbuttoning his shirt as he walked across the room. “I didn’t realize it had gotten so late. I got caught up in my work.” He dropped the shirt in the hamper then started to remove his slacks. “I didn’t think you’d wait up for me.”
    • Dougal & Shae – 111 words – Maybe his dad could help him figure out what to do about the woman he couldn’t get out of his head.
    • Mason & Lila – 120 words – “Need a quick tutoring session?” Brian asked.Mason banged his head against the locker. “Maybe if I thought that was actually going to do any good. I swear he knows the problems that give me the most trouble and makes sure they’re all that’s on quizzes and tests.” *oh, poor Mason. And all he did was want to date the man’s daughter.
    • Jacob & Matthew – 186 words – Matthew leaned back into Jacob’s touch. “I always said I wouldn’t go back there. After Ma died, nothing was right. Then, he married her, and they had [xx], and it was like I stopped existing. The few times I’ve visited, we have done nothing but fight. What reason do I have for returning to that?”
    • Hang On – 153 words – “I said I was coming,” I told him as I finally yanked the door open. The man on the porch shook his head, nearly white-blond hair falling into his face. “No. I certainly would remember if you’d given me that much information. You said hang on, but I can’t do that in public.” *Haven’t even named this character yet, but I like his sense of humor.

Editing:

  • Primary: Stained Blood – 10 new scenes & apply CP edits to 40 scenes – 2/10 new scenes finished this month. 2/40 scenes edited. 1558 words added this month. 1100 since Sunday
    • The truth was he was a coward. A damn yellow-bellied coyote. Seeing her made him want so much. And he wasn’t sure he deserved any of it.
  • Secondary: Flames of Renewal(if I get back from CP) – complete CP edits
    • In the Moonlight – start revisions

Blogging:

  • A-Z posts – draft 24 posts – 2/24 for the month. 508 words on D post, 361 since last check-in. Finished D. 160 words on E post. I may not finish drafting all of these this month, but hopefully will at least have a good start.
  • A-Z posts – edit & format 26 posts

Reading:

  • Listen: 8 books – 3/8 for the month, 2 since last Sunday
    • In Her Sights(Robin Perini) – enjoyed this one.
    • Need You for Keeps(Marina Adair) – finished this one last night. Really enjoyed it(and listened to the end as a break from the emotional rollercoaster I was reading).
    • King’s Cage(Victoria Aveyard) – just started this one Wednesday morning. On Chapter 15.
  • Read: 31 books – 11/31 for the month, 9 since last Sunday
    • Hope Burns(Jaci Burton) – enjoyed this one, though the resolution seemed a little too, I don’t know, rushed I guess.
    • Gone to Die(Stacy Green) – I had some issues with this one. Some of it felt out of character. And I just went “of course, the sadistic killer was raised by her killer truck driver father. Because truck drivers are always criminals.” That portrayal bothers me. My husband was driving truck when I met him, and I just…ugh, it irritates me.
    • Crimson Stain(Jim Fisher) – this is a true crime story about an Amish man who killed his wife not very far from where we live(It happened when I was about 8 years old). Reading this when I finish the rest of the books on my weekly list. On page: 23/314(not counting all the end notes & index)
    • Lucky Break(Carly Phillips) – I liked this one okay. Probably wouldn’t have finished the trilogy, though, if I hadn’t had all three books. Still, it was a light read.
    • History is All You Left Me(Adam Silvera) – Finished this Wednesday afternoon. Just, so, so good.  This had me crying within 50 pages. And a couple pages later, I was laughing again. I actually had to take a break and listen to the end of a romance. This was breaking my heart so bad. There are some downsides to being such an emotional reader.
    • Suffer Love(Ashley Herring Blake) – On page 12/344. Started this while waiting for the kids’ bus Wednesday afternoon, though it was kind of windy to read a physical book outside. Finished it Wednesday night. It was a nice, fairly light and quick read. Really enjoyed it. And needed it after the emotional roller coaster of the last book.
    • Burning Bright(various) – this was a collection of love stories set around Hanukkah. I couldn’t get into the first three, but read the last one(by an author I’ve read before) and enjoyed that one.
    • Against the Odds(Kat Martin) – started this one Thursday morning. Finished it Friday. Have an issue with a side character. Saying she has to force her daughter(5 years old, I think) into wearing dresses and playing with “girl” things. No, no, no. Just don’t. I’m hoping that attitude will be challenged in the book. And it’s not like it’s an older book. It was published in 2013. Update on the mini rant: She did finally realize she was being stupid about this, at least. And other than that issue, I mostly enjoyed the book.
    • Red Zone(Mari Carr) – Started this one Friday night. Finished it yesterday. Really enjoyed it.
    • Dangerous(R.G. Alexander) – read this one yesterday. enjoyed it, too.
    • Hammer of the Gods(Christina Ochs) – this is book 3 in her Desolate Empire series. I got the boxed set, but I’ve already read the first 2 separately, so I jumped right to this one on my phone. I’ll read it in the between moments.

Crafting:

  • Knit: Georgian Lace Cap – started this on Monday. Have 4/4 rounds knitted for the brim. 16/40 rounds knitted for cap lace section.
  • Crochet: Cross-over Long DC Hat
  • Loom: Ambrosia Love Scarf & Last Minute Slouchy Hat – I finished the scarf on Sunday.
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Lost Hour" (10)

  1. I hate the time change. I can’t even call it daylight savings time, coz what does that mean? How can we save daylight? I just had the twice a year conversation with the hubby, where I can’t figure out what time it really is. Just coz the clock says 6:30, what time is it really. I just don’t get it.

    Anyway, best wishes with those goals.

  2. Pam Baddeley said:

    The clocks don’t change here for another two weeks so we’ve that fun to come. Never mind, we have more light in the evenings now so it’ll extend the light evenings even more.

    Good progress with the goals :-). Best wishes for the next week.

  3. I absolutely hate DST with a passion. I think it’s pointless.

    Nice work this week! King’s Cage is on my TBD list.

  4. My kids mostly just ignore it. I didn’t sleep last night, because of the moon, and only grabbed a 3 hourish nap, so I was a little tired all day, anyway.

    It was hardest on Jim. He’s only recently started working mornings for the first time in decades, and had to get up at what his body insisted was 4:30 AM. The restaurant is in a community rich in Italian ancestry, and tending toward older, observant Catholic folk, so Sundays during Lent are kind of a big deal, and he was really busy! On the other hand, he was home earlier than I expected, which threw me because I wanted more time for hometending, but also meant that he got to watch the NASCAR race – something he really hasn’t been able to do except rarely for years’ worth of Sundays (he’s not a sports-watching guy in general, but he does enjoy watching car races, so I’m thrilled for him. Sometimes I watch too, and others, it’s a good time for me to get some writing done and know I won’t be ignoring him.

    I do like the guy with the naughty sense of humor. He could be living at my house!

    As for the story with the girl being forced into dresses – BLECH!!!!!! Lise, from about ages 6-8, almost exclusively wore Miah’s outgrown clothes. In the “Leap of Faith” section on my updates, that’s her, in her own purple fleece hoodie with the hot pink piping and shoes to match… but what might be harder to notice is that those are shark jammie pants she’s wearing. We were visiting the Herkimer Diamond Mine, and I think she was 7 or so. After that, she went through about 3 years of exclusively wearing dresses, and now its yoga pants with funky waistbands (neon-colored skulls! zebra stripes!) and T-shirts.

    She doesn’t play much with dolls anymore, and never did all that much. She likes fixing cars with her dad. Miah likes to cook. He played with dolls when he was very small; that helped him deal with his grief for Elijah. He always has preferred puzzles and games play to the stereotypical “boy” toys…but then, we never assigned any toy a gender, or told the kids they couldn’t have a toy because it was “supposed” to be for the other gender. Lise has Littlest Pet Shops with differing sexualities and genders, including, she says, “non-binary.”

    I think it’s in things like this – supporting who our kids are and what they’re passionate about – that will move us from “tolerance” for the different, rather than simple acceptance that we’re ALL different, and that’s a great thing!

    Ummm, yeah….guess I should put my soapbox away…. =D

    • Hope you were able to get some sleep! And that he enjoyed watching the race. We didn’t turn it on until it was just about over.
      I’m glad you liked it. This story might be full of innuendoes.
      Yeah, if I wasn’t so invested in the series(I only have 2 more books to read in it), I might have thrown the book and not finished it. But, by the end, the character realized she was doing the same thing her mother had always done which made her miserable. But, it irritated me. I was never much of a “girly-girl”. I’m still not all that “feminine”. My daughter used to play with tractors more than dolls, but now she’s definitely more on the girly end. And somehow(I’m guessing things she’s heard at school) has very firm ideas of what girls and boys should do. I try to reinforce that both can do whatever they want when it comes up.

  5. I’m always in awe of your amazing writing progress — and I love how you include snippets so we get a sense of the characters, their feelings and conflicts. That inspires me! I also appreciated your advice to write scenes that might not necessarily make it to the final version. Keep working those scenes and amazing stories emerge. Also, the reading you do seems to feed the writing as well, right? You’re probably over adjusting to DST already. Looking forward to hearing what you did this week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

