Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m continuing to share from Dance with the Devil this month(next month I’ll probably share from what I’m writing for the A-Z challenge which is the next story in this series). For now, we have 10 sentences from the next chapter. The Riders are going to face down their rivals, try to get the problems between them ended. Devil’s feeling a little uneasy, though(since these are the guys who have beat him up twice, he has good reason).

I looked back at Hawk once as we headed to our positions. Once we were in place, Bull and Icarus would finally approach the house. There was a wariness in Hawk’s eyes. It wasn’t exactly unusual to see it there. He always seemed to be watching for what could go wrong, but there was something more here, I was sure of it.

I wanted to ask him what was wrong, but it was too late for that now. I’m sure he’d tell me it was nothing. Just a bad feeling, or something like that. But, I knew to trust his bad feelings. They were usually spot-on.

Is something wrong? Should Devil have asked about what Hawk’s worried about? You might find out next week.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Usually Spot-On”" (16)

  1. Yes, I’m sure something’s wrong, though I have no idea what.

  2. Oh, dear. The dust is going to hit the fan. Big time! Good foreshadow, Fallon
    Just like in the movies, when you know its coming and when it does, you just about levitate

  3. Love the feeling of foreboding here!

  4. Great build-up of tension here. Things aren’t going to go as planned, are they?

  5. Uh oh, foreshadowing bigtime and now I’m all worried too! Excellent excerpt!

  6. Diane Burton said:

    Uh oh. I’ve got a bad feeling, too. Great tension.

  7. Pins and needles! It’s not looking good.

  8. Intriguing. Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

