Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “No Need”

Welcome back for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who loves to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil. This is just a little farther along in the scene from what I shared last week. Devil has finally admitted something to Icarus that he’d been trying to hide(maybe even from himself) for quite a while.

“Do you really think we didn’t know? Hell, Bull and I have known Hawk loved you from the moment he recruited you. If we truly had a problem with it, neither of you would be here.”

My hand shook as I brought it up to cover my face, but Icarus reached out and took it, bringing it back down by my side. “No need for that,” he said softly. “I know he’s told you, Devil, but none of us have a problem with him, or with you, or with the two of you together. You don’t have to-“

“Stop.” My stomach was tied into such tight knots; it wasn’t doing anything to help my pain level. “Just stop, Icarus.”

Why does Devil insist he stop? Why did he think they’d have a problem? Is he going to stop hiding from how he feels?

And good news: I finished the first draft of this on Tuesday! I’d hoped to have it finished back in December but that obviously didn’t happen. I won’t start editing it until at least March and I’ll probably start posting it to Wattpad in April or May. In the meantime, you could catch up on the first two if you haven’t read them.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “No Need”" (14)

  1. I think his “Just stop…” might get misconstrued. 🙂

    Yay on finishing the draft of this! 🙂

  2. Well written, the implications so clear.

  3. Very tense snippet, poor Devil – you really make me feel for him!

  4. A great exchange. Thank you for sharing it!

  5. Revelations! Nice snip. Heavy tension.

  6. Cool. Nothing’s better than finding out your horrid secret is not only already known and accepted.

  7. Looks like Devil might be having a harder time with this than those around him.

    • He is. He had reasons for being worried, ones that go back to how he was treating by the family he was born to. But, the one he’s made here is different, and he sometimes forgets that.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

