Home of a mother, wife, writer

So, when are you moving back home.”

Corrin glanced over at her brother. “Who said I was?”

“Well, you finally told us the truth about getting kicked out of school. What else are you going to do?”

“Exactly what I have been doing. Working for Gio at the pub and staying at the apartment with Jer and Silas. I don’t see why anything has to change just because you know what’s going on now.”

Neil frowned at her. “That’s not right, Cor. You shouldn’t be staying with those two guys. What if-”

“What?” she interrupted him. “You think they’ll take advantage of me?” She actually laughed at that. “Yeah, I don’t see that happening.”

“You never know. I know how guys think. You’d be better off at home.”

“You’re such an asshole sometimes, Neil. I think you’ve been spending too much time around Cormac.”

“What does our cousin have to do with anything?”

“You reap what you sow. That’s what he’s always saying. Because everything that happened is of course my fault.”

“I don’t know if that’s true,” Neil said. “Because you won’t tell us exactly what happened.”

And she didn’t plan to now. Not when she felt so much judgment from her brother already. “And you don’t have to worry about the boys. If there’s a man as honorable as Jeremiah, I’ve never met him. And Silas is gay. He doesn’t have any interest in taking advantage of me. Why do you think he never comes with Jer to any of our family things? He’s sure they’ll judge him.”

Neil scoffed. “Our family isn’t like that.”

“And yet you’re judging them for letting me crash on the couch for the last month and not asking anything in return. I’m just trying to sew the pieces of my life back together.”

“A little dramatic there, aren’t you? Come on. They’re going to wonder where we’ve gotten to.”

She pasted a smile on her face as they headed back to the gathering. If only a happy mask could make it so.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday again, and I spent it with Corrin. I wasn’t even sure I’d come up with something for today than Corrin and her brother started talking. So, I threw this together. Pretty sure it will take place before Playing with Fire starts.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

