Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who loves to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil. This week I’m moving on to the next scene. Devil is still healing and Icarus has come in to talk to him about what happened. I have 10 sentences of their conversation:

This isn’t the way we work. You don’t go off half-cocked.”

I opened my mouth to protest, but Icarus held up a hand. “I know. That’s not exactly what happened here, but Hawk said you rode out of here yesterday morning like your namesake was on your tail.”

I couldn’t help it. I smiled a little at that one. Icarus’ return smile was soft. “I don’t know exactly what made you take off like that, but I’d hoped after all this time you’d trust us, and that you wouldn’t still be so reckless with your own life. Do you really think it’s worth so little?”

Is that what Devil thinks? Will he start using his head a bit more?

I only have likely one more scene to write for this story. I’ll be writing Icarus & Cassie’s story for the A-Z Challenge this year. Then, I’ll be continuing Hawk and Devil’s story, with the next part written from Hawk’s POV.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Worth So Little”" (16)

  1. I wonder if his friend’s exhortations will have any affect on Devil.

  2. nancygideon said:

    Nice exploration of their relationship. Reveals a lot in a few sentences.

  3. Good conversation they’re having! Enjoyed the excerpt…I hope Devil listens to the good advice.

  4. Excellent! –> “…said you rode out of here yesterday morning like your namesake was on your tail.”

  5. Someone or something’s gotta give here. Good snippet.

  6. Trust is the hardest thing to earn, and give.

  7. Sounds like he MIGHT be getting through to Devil.

  8. I wonder if he will listen to what his friend says and it will make a difference. Good snippet

  9. I really like the kindness in this scene. Devil apparently needs to feel he’s cared about.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

