Home of a mother, wife, writer

I feel a little weird acting like business as usual when there’s so much going on out there. And I’m having trouble ordering any of my thoughts on all of it. But, it’s definitely keeping my anxiety up almost constantly. Part of me just wants to shut myself away in fictional worlds, my own and others. But, I know that won’t do a lot of good either. Just my unhealthy coping mechanism at work again.

And along that line, I finished the first draft of Crash and Burn on Friday. It ended up being just a little over 40K. Pretty happy with that since it was supposed to be a novella anyway. I was hoping to have Playing with Fire ready to start writing, but I’m not quite there yet. Hopefully sometime this week, even if it isn’t completely outlined.

I’ve got a good bit done this week:

  • Write: Target of 10000 between all projects – 12715/10000 words. A really great week for words.
    • Crash and Burn – 9440 words – That had him perking up slightly. Jaya was here? He’d extended the invitation, but he wasn’t sure if she’d come or not. He’d thought maybe she decided being with him wasn’t what she wanted after all. That she’d realized it might be too dangerous.
    • Defending the Heart – 1072 words – Xavier muttered something in Spanish that Piers wasn’t quite able to make out. He was pretty sure it wasn’t too complimentary to him, though. “You don’t bleed like that from a scratch. Come on, my car’s right here.”
    • Stay a Little Longer – 576 words – No one had ever had that kind of faith in him off the football field. But, he didn’t know how to voice how that had always made him feel. Why it had made him act like an asshole so often. It felt too much like a cop-out. And he didn’t want to use it anymore.
    • Not Meant to Be – 838 words – “Get your head back on your shoulders and out of your pants,” he muttered as he filled the mug with coffee. *oh, Toby.
    • Buried Secrets – 789 words – “A few times a week.” Why was he having so much trouble with this? He was known to have a pretty decent bedside manner. He could talk to an ill or injured patient, help put them at ease. Yet he couldn’t even carry on a casual conversation with a pretty woman.
  • Edit: Stained Blood – finish Story Toolkit & outline new scenes – still working through Toolkit. Finished up the romance arc
  • Plot: Playing with FireWork through Story Toolkit & explore characters with Just Jot It prompts. Outline if I get that far. – got through the romance arc for this one as well. and have kept up with the prompts:
    • Compromise – Corrin & Silas try to find middle ground
    • Elusive – Jeremiah tries to balance school & work
    • Extraordinary – Jeremiah & Corrin get a little steamy
    • Incomplete – Silas & Corrin spend some time together
    • Wood/Would – A little slice of after the HEA
    • History – Jeremiah tries to convince Corrin she won’t get between him & Silas
  • Side Projects: Add another 2000 words – 1616/2000 words
    • Midas’ Daughter – 516 words – Put her away, like she was just some prized toy to place on a shelf then forget about. Big surprise some spoiled rich girl would think that way. “Okay, Dad. I’ll get it done.” *oh, you’ll figure it out, Flip. 😉
    • Dance with the Devil – 514 words – “We had absolutely nothing to do with that.” I knew they’d never believe it. But, I had to keep them talking. Keep him from putting a bullet in Hawk’s head right in front of me. *things aren’t looking too good for these two right now.
    • Fade Away – 78 words – Once I had paid for my groceries, I hurried out to my car, a bag in each hand. And, of course, almost as soon as I stepped outside, it started pouring down rain. Just my luck. I dropped the groceries into my trunk and slammed the lid. By the time I climbed into my car, there was no wringing my clothes out. *I have only a very vague idea where this one is going.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 67 words – His eyes twinkled as she looked back up at him. “I guess you will have to open it to find out.”
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 61 words – The other men riding with Tavin made a strange sound, but her attention was still on Tavin. “I am just standing here.”
    • Roman – 209 words – “They may have let worse than that happen. If she knows she’s secure here, it will stop being an issue. We just have to let her be for a while.”
    • Dougal & Shae – 171 words – Her sister was right. That fight at the bar could have been a lot worse. A lot worse than having a man make her feel something she wasn’t sure she wanted to.
  • Listen: It Had to Be Them(Tamra Baumann) & Midnight Betrayal(Melinda Leigh) – finished both of these, listened to He Can Fall(Melinda Leigh) and enjoyed and almost through with Changeless(Gail Carriger) which I’m really enjoying.
  • Read: Loud is How I Love You(Mercy Brown), Love Ignites(Jaci Burton), Just a Girl(Ellie Cahill), Star Seers(Lindsay Buroker), Lucky Streak(Carly Phillips), All I Want(Jill Shalvis), & Idol(Kristen Callihan) – I really enjoyed Love is How I Love You, Love Ignites, and Just a Girl. Loved Star Seers, liked Lucky Streak better than the first book in the trilogy, but the climax felt kind of, well, anti-climatic. And I really enjoyed All I Want. Will be starting Idol today.
  • Crochet: Giraffe Hat – finished this wp-1485343802272.jpg
  • Loom: Meadow Moss Headband – started and ripped this out a couple times. Need to restart it again.
  • A to Z Challenge: Plot – N-Z posts – finished plotting all of these. Now to start drafting them.

Mostly blue and green. I always like to see that. Now, for next week’s goals. At least for the rest of January. Will be adding more at the mid-week check-in for the beginning of February(the top ones won’t be affected by that).

  • Write: Shoot for 10000 between all projects
  • Edit: Stained Blood – finish Story Toolkit & outline new scenes
  • Plot: Playing with Fire – finish Story Toolkit, the last 2 Just Jot It January prompts, and outline if I can
  • Side Projects: Add 1500 words(since I’m moving Midas’ Daughter up under the other writing for now)
  • Listen: Changeless(Gail Carriger), Be Mine Forever(Marina Adair), The Sapphire Brooch(Katherine Lowry Logan)
  • Read: Finish Idol(Kristen Callihan), Mixed Signals(Alyssa Cole), Act Like It(Lucy Parker), & Engaging the Bachelor(Cathryn Fox)
  • Loom: Meadow Moss Headband
  • A to Z Challenge: Draft – Posts A-Z
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Another One Down" (8)

  1. Nice job, and congrats on finishing Crash and Burn!

    I know what you mean about anxiety. My anxiety has been near constant as well, mostly because of a crappy work situation. Been trying not to think about much.

    • Thanks, Erin!
      Mine’s mostly triggered by social situations(and making phone calls), but lately it’s been more of a constant thing.

  2. Hooray for another project finished!

    I spent a good part of yesterday afternoon watching the demonstration at JFK. I was very impressed with how civil it was. There were only a few officers, in regular uniform, and mostly they were just there to direct traffic and allow for pedestrian flow.

    At one point they were chanting, “This is what democracy looks like” and I teared up.

    I’m putting my focus on the positive, as much as I can, and informing myself, because I think I can be more helpful if I have some idea what’s going on, and how those with different perspectives view things.

    I have had to delete a post that was insulting and not useful, and remind another friend that I only want respectful posts shared in my personal social media space, but, for the most part, there’s been a peaceful exchange of information, which can only be a good.

    • Thanks, Shan!
      We had my nephew’s birthday party yesterday, and my family is, well, a lot more conservative than I am. My brother-in-law has very strong opinions that I greatly disagree with, but of course, he’s always right, so there’s no point arguing or even trying to convince him of anything else. So I just did my best to avoid any talk of things while we were there, and I had my kindle with me to help with that. If he was willing to see another point of view it’d be different.

  3. I haven’t been writing at all for a while. This is partly due to personal issues, but I do find the world… distracting at the moment. Good on you for keeping your writing going.

    I crocheted some pussy hats, but at the moment I am in the middle of a “brain hat” project. (knitting i-cord tubes to make the folds and lobes on top of a cap.)

    • I’ve found I need to write more when everything’s going crazy, it helps keep my mind settled. Some of that is avoidance, of course.
      The brain hat sounds interesting.

  4. The world is… very distracting at the moment. I’m amazed and delighted by all that lovely blue and green you’ve built up in the face of it. Those have to be some of the most lovely, peaceful colors out there. Uplifting….

    The Fade Away quote was cute… I’ve had days like that. Though, usually the rain dies off just as soon as I turn the key. Definitely a character moment one can relate to!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

