Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “Good Boy”

Welcome back for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who loves to write. Last week, I left Devil refusing to take any pain medication after he’d been beat up pretty bad. A lot were wondering why he wouldn’t just take them, so here’s a little look into what’s going on his head. This picks up right after last week’s:

I started to laugh, but it ended in a groan, and I fell back against the bed.

“Take the damn pills,” she said, repeating Bull’s words. “I’ll dole them out to you on a schedule if it makes you feel better, but either way, you aren’t your brother. Taking them when needed isn’t what turns you into an addict.”

I still hesitated. I might not be my brother, but there was no way to know that I didn’t have that same thing in me that had made him an addict. Since the first time Andy had gone down that path, I’d avoided taking anything I didn’t have to.

But, Medusa held the pills out until I finally took them from her hand. I still hesitated, but when she didn’t move away, I set them in my mouth and downed them with the water she held out to me, too.

“That’s a good boy.”

I’m getting really close to finishing this story. On the final battle, so just need to get through that and the end. But, I’ll keep posting from this one at least through March, since I’ll be writing the next one for the A-Z Challenge in April.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Good Boy”" (13)

  1. While this is strong motivation, if he has people who can dole out the meds carefully he should be okay.

  2. I liked the snippet, both his struggle and concerns, and the solution his friends have proposed to help him.

  3. That is a hetic phantom to wrestle with, Fallon.

    Medusa is one insightful lady

  4. I’ve seen this behavior with alcohol, too, with people DNA-predisposed to developing alcoholism.

    This has been such a good scene, Fallon. It is definitely tackling head-on, something that many grapple with.

  5. Ah, that makes sense! Good luck powering through to the end!

  6. It has to be tough knowing that proper use can lead to abuse because of a family history. But it sounds like he has a good support system to prevent that from happening!

  7. I don’t blame him for being cautious, but do think he made a good decision since when used for their intended purpose the drugs are beneficial.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

