Home of a mother, wife, writer

I mentioned on Wednesday that I’d finished the first draft of In the Moonlight(after about nine months of working on it). So, that meant I had a slot open for another of my standalone ideas. Loving the Devil was supposed to fill that slot but the plotting of it wasn’t coming together. So, instead I decided to do one that is already plotted but had gotten shuffled aside when Nola and Yasmin decided their story needed to be told more. So now I’m working on Buried Secrets. I don’t know if this one will take off or not, but I’ll give it a little bit before I make a decision on that.

Yesterday we went up to Erie, made a couple stops before we went for dinner at Outback. While we were there the boy kept saying his right ear hurt. So, when we finished eating, we headed over to one of the local urgent care places. Sure enough, he has a really bad infection in his right ear, and one starting in the left ear. So, I’m glad we took him in now. He’s made it almost 6.5 years without an ear infection, though. The girl had several between about 3-6 years old, but she hasn’t even had one for a while.

I had a pretty good week over all.

  • Write: Shoot for 10000 words – 10403/10000
    • In the Moonlight – 3819 words – “Sorry you wasted your time coming here,” I said, too tired to work up too much sarcasm. “As you can see, I’m fine. Or I will be once I can take my girlfriend home.”
    • Crash and Burn – 4561 words – He’d have to try not to worry about it. If he started firing texts off at her, she’d claim he was being overbearing again. And that’s just what he would be. But, he couldn’t shake the feeling that something was going to happen soon. If anything happened to Jaya…He shook his head. He couldn’t think about that. It would drive him mad.
    • Defending the Heart – 700 words – He just needed to get away from here for tonight. Get some dinner, maybe a drink. Possibly he could even find someone to go home with and forget all about Piers. For at least one night that would be enough. It had to be.
      Even if the thought of touching someone other than Piers made him feel ill.
    • Stay a Little Longer – 177 words – Terrall was re-folding a shirt to put in his suitcase when there was a knock on his door. He let out a sigh and dropped the shirt onto the bed. He didn’t really have to guess to know who it was. Very few people would visit him here at the bed and breakfast. He didn’t see Erik coming up after they’d basically fired him. And he didn’t exactly have any other friends around here.
    • Not Meant to Be – 613 words – He groaned again and dropped his head back against the couch. “That’s because I wanted you,” he said, the words sounding gritty as if scratching against sandpaper. “And I knew I couldn’t have you.”
    • Buried Secrets – 533 words – Sometimes he didn’t want anything to do with his colleagues outside of work, though. Doctors could be arrogant bastards.
  • Edit: Stained Blood – finish Story Toolkit & outline new scenes – still working my way through the Toolkit
  • Plot: Playing with Fire – finish Story Toolkit & continue exploring characters with Just Jot It prompts. Outline if I get that far – still working through the Toolkit here, too. I have three character arcs to plot through and have to figure out how I’m going to handle the romance arc. Doing good with the Just Jot It prompts, too.
    • Impenetrable – Jeremiah tries to get Corrin to talk to him but won’t push too far
    • Complaint – Silas & Jeremiah flirt and kiss
    • Rubbish – Corrin & Silas argue about who Jeremiah really loves
    • Transcendent – Jeremiah teases Silas as Corrin watches
    • Glass – Silas gets Corrin to talk
    • Contempt – Silas trying to deal with what Corrin told him and faces off with a professor
  • Side projects – add 2000 words(added new project to the list for possible submission to this year’s WUR) – 1910/2000 words. Only one I didn’t reach goal on was “Fade Away” my new project. Though, I did get it started so it might start coming better now.
    • Midas’ Daughter – 509 words – But, right now he had more work to do. He didn’t need to worry about riling up Mr. Midas’ temper yet again. Not that any of the other times had been his fault either. No matter what his boss claimed. But, it had never taken Mr. Midas much to punish any of his employees. Or his daughter.
      Their one and only kiss was all the proof of that he needed.
    • Dance with the Devil – 514 words – I couldn’t, though. I couldn’t just ride away and leave Hawk there. He’d never do it to me.
    • Fade Away – 162 words – He glared at me and said something I didn’t understand. I didn’t like the shiver that skidded down my spine. I backed away and turned my cart, deciding I didn’t need those last two items so bad after all. I just wanted to get out of there.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 176 words – She saw something flash through his eyes. Hurt? No, that didn’t make any sense. It would make a lot more for it to be anger. But, there weren’t any signs of that. This man just didn’t make any sense to her.
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 141 words – The man stopped and stared at her, but she was already looking back toward Tavin. Something weird was happening with his mouth. Like it kept trying to turn up, then it would flatten out again. She did not know what made it do that.
    • Roman – 206 words – Dinner was silent, but Roman couldn’t help looking over at Cristine every few minutes. She looked tired. And still so damn sad. He just wished there was something more he could do about it. But, she’d made it pretty clear she didn’t want him to do anything. So, what was he supposed to do? Just let them fall apart?
    • Dougal & Shae – 202 words – She glared at him then turned and stomped away. The older of her brothers laughed. “You’ve gone and done it, Dougal.”“Done what?” he asked, still watching her walk away.“Joined the club of men who can easily peev Shae off. Don’t worry, we’ll be good company for you.”
  • Listen: Lady Midnight(Cassandra Clare), The Pale Dreamer(Samantha Shannon), & The Professor(Robert Bailey) – I finished Lady Midnight(loved), The Pale Dreamer(really enjoyed), stopped listening to The Professor, started and stopped Evil Never Dies(T.R. Ragan). Listened to Her Grave Secrets(Kendra Elliot) which I enjoyed and have listened to most of She Can Hide(Melinda Leigh).
  • Read: Finish Nothing Like Paris(Amy Jo Cousins), All Summer Long(Susan Mallery), Love, Exes, and Ohs(Violet Duke), Sweet Cinderella(Penny Watson), Under a Painted Sky(Stacey Lee), Lady of the Star Wind(Veronica Scott), Shattered Past(Lindsay Buroker), Last Seen Leaving(Caleb Roehrig), & Burned(Sarah Morgan) – I finished Nothing Like Paris(really enjoyed), All Summer Long(enjoyed), Love, Exes and Ohs(liked), & Sweet Cinderella(liked). Also finished Under a Painted Sky(loved), Lady of the Star Wind(enjoyed), Shattered Past(really enjoyed), and I’m a little more than half through Last Seen Leaving, which I’m loving.
  • Crochet – Giraffe Hat – almost finished with this wp-1485089109696.jpg
  • Loom – Meadow Moss Headband – haven’t started yet
  • A to Z Challenge: Plot – L-Z posts – I got L & M outlined.

Looks about equally split between blue and green. Not too shabby. Now for next week’s goals:

  • Write: Target of 10000 between all projects
  • Edit: Stained Blood – finish Story Toolkit & outline new scenes
  • Plot: Playing with Fire – Work through Story Toolkit & explore characters with Just Jot It prompts. Outline if I get that far.
  • Side Projects: Add another 2000 words
  • Listen: It Had to Be Them(Tamra Baumann) & Midnight Betrayal(Melinda Leigh)
  • Read: Loud is How I Love You(Mercy Brown), Love Ignites(Jaci Burton), Just a Girl(Ellie Cahill), Star Seers(Lindsay Buroker), Lucky Streak(Carly Phillips), All I Want(Jill Shalvis), & Idol(Kristen Callihan)
  • Crochet: Giraffe Hat
  • Loom: Meadow Moss Headband
  • A to Z Challenge: Plot – N-Z posts
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Starting New" (6)

  1. Wow, you did have a great week–keep it up! I’m trying out Story Toolkit on my WIP, hoping working through some of those details will get it un-stuck. Glad to see it’s working for you!

  2. Sorry to hear about your boy’s ears. At least you’ve caught it now so I hope he’s on the mend.

    Congrats on the great progress during the week. I should have a look at the Story Toolkit and see how I like it. I’ve been wanting to experiment with different resources to see which ones I like best.

    • He seems to be doing better since we started him on the antibiotic.
      Thanks. The Toolkit can be a little time-consuming but I like it.

  3. I like the Toolkit, too. I don’t mind the time spent, because I’m getting valuable character insight.

    I love all of the snippets, but I really want to know what the bleep Xavier is thinking up there!

    Great week for you! May the boy be better when you read this, and may this week be at least as productive.

    • yeah, it can be time-consuming, but I do like doing it.
      Well, Xavier had just asked Piers if he wanted to get some dinner and Piers turned him down. So, he’s feeling kind of rejected right now. They’ve still got a few things to work through
      It was a pretty great week. the boy is doing better since he started antibiotics, and so far this week is off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

