Home of a mother, wife, writer

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who loves to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil. I’m just about to write the climax of this story, and the next one will be what I’m writing for this year’s A-Z challenge in April. I’m still plotting out what will happen in each of those posts/scenes but will hopefully start writing them soon so I can have them ready to go. But, I won’t be sharing from those until they start going up on the blog, so even if I finish Dance with the Devil before that(and I plan to), I’ll keep sharing from it until then. This is a little further on in the scene, Medusa’s examined Devil and Bull came in with bad news about Devil’s bike. And now Devil’s refusing to take anything for the pain.

“Take them, Devil,” Medusa said, her voice soft, as if she understood what my struggle was. “I know you’re in even more pain than you’re letting on, and they’ll help.” She went silent, but I still didn’t take them.

“Damn it, Devil,” Bull said and slammed the bucket down on the floor, “stop being stubborn and take the damn pills. It doesn’t make you weak. Refusing them when they’re needed makes you stupid.”

“Eric,” Medusa said softly, surprising both of us, “let me talk to him.”

Bull huffed out a breath, but he turned and walked out of the room. She shook her head once the door closed. “Should’ve named him teddy bear,” she murmured.

Why is Devil refusing the medication?(I know, and if you read Into the Sun you might understand, too) Will he end up taking it? What is Medusa going to say to Devil? Is Bull really just a big teddy bear?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Make You Weak”" (16)

  1. {Please forgive me if I am a bit behind (it has been an insane month, and previously I used my tablet and smartphone to do the hop), did you just change your website? I love how it looks. 🙂 }

    I suspect a deep, dark secret is about to see the light of day! Devil is such a lovely, complex character. Medusa has the handle on Bull, too. I wonder if she will manage Devil just as well?

    • I haven’t changed anything on the website in quite a while. :
      Pretty much everyone in the club knows about the reason, though they might not realize how much it affects him. Thanks

  2. My question is why teddy bear? But why the med refusal is interesting too! What a curious relationship between these three.

  3. I want to yell at Devil too. Pain meds are good, at least when you’re in pain. 🙂

  4. Maybe I’m just a suspicious person, but I wonder why he won’t take the meds? Can he trust Bull and Medusa?

    Loads of tension from Bull in this scene, but Medusa’s calm voice counters it. Weird, like she’s casting a spell over the scene. 🙂

  5. I imagine Devil has his reasons but still, the scene was interesting for the view into each of the characters! Great snippet…

  6. Like others, I’m wondering why he won’t take the pain pills.

  7. Diane Burton said:

    Interesting snippet. I can think of all kinds of reasons why he won’t take the pills. ;I’ll bet you’ve got a great reason, other than stubbornness. LOL It makes me want to read more. Good job.

  8. I am with Diane and can think of a dozen reason why he wouldn’t want to take the pills…looking forward to finding our yours.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

