Home of a mother, wife, writer

“Corrin, will you look at me?” Jeremiah asked, studying the top of her head.

“I am,” she whispered.

“My face, not my feet,” he said.

She finally looked up, and he could have sworn he saw the wall come down. An impenetrable wall, even though he’d thought he was starting to get through to her. “Please don’t shut me out. Even if you won’t tell me exactly what’s going on, please don’t shut me all the way out.”

“You can’t ask that of me. To open up then once you know…”

“What?” he asked when she didn’t finish. “What am I going to do when I know everything? Still want you the same way I have since the first time I saw you in the campus library. Or, God forbid, feel some sympathy for whatever happened to you.”

“Sympathy isn’t what you’re going to feel,” she said.

“Why don’t you let me be the judge of that?”

She stared at him for a long moment before dropping her gaze to the floor again. “I can’t, Jer. I just can’t do it. Not right now.”

“Fine,” he snapped. Then, he forced himself to gentle his voice. “Fine, Corrin,” he said again. “But, don’t forget that I’m here whenever you decide you’re ready to talk.”

She nodded, even though he didn’t think she was convinced. He brushed his thumb over her cheek then stepped back, turning to go to his room. He’d prove it to her. That nothing she could do would ever make him walk away from her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is Day 16 of Just Jot It January and today’s prompt was “impenetrable”. Things are getting a little intense.

Comments on: "Just Jot It January: Day 16 – “Impenetrable”" (4)

  1. I like him more and more, and it’s not just about his awesome name anymore!

  2. […] Impenetrable – Jeremiah tries to get Corrin to talk to him but won’t push too far […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

