Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s been a pretty decent week as far as my writing progress goes. Didn’t get as much in as I wanted to, but I’m getting really close to the end of In the Moonlight. I’ve also decided to, at least for now, shelve plotting Loving the Devil. It’s just not coming together right now for me. Instead I picked one of my standalone ideas that’s already plotted out. So, for this week, I’ll be adding Buried Secrets to my writing list. I’ll give it a little bit but if the words aren’t coming for it, it will be shelved as well. I have so many ideas, I don’t see spending too much time on one that’s just not working.

And yesterday, we went out to breakfast then to do some shopping. A stop at the used bookstore(forgot to take any of my boxes of books to trade-in, but I still came out with 4 “new” books. My ‘TBR’ pile of physical books is now up to 22), then Toys R Us before we got to Walmart. I got my haircut before we got groceries. It hasn’t been cut since the end of August, and I’ve been wanting it cut since before Thanksgiving. I didn’t realize quite how much I hate having it long until I started getting it cut short again.

wp-1484484130340.jpg

Now, as for my progress for the week, let’s look at it:

  • Write: Shooting for a target of 10000 words this week – 8751/10000 words. Not quite as much as I would have liked but still not too bad. Hopefully this week will be even better.
    • In the Moonlight – 5756 words – “I’m okay now,” I said after a few minutes. “I guess if we’re going to keep following ghosts around, I’m going to need to get into better shape.”She laughed and squeezed her arm around my waist. “You’re the perfect shape for me.”
    • Crash and Burn – 1050 words – “Shit.” He couldn’t hold back the curse this time, and almost felt the disapproval from his sister-in-law as he dropped his head into his hands. “You’re right,” he admitted. “I know you’re right. I just don’t know how to make it better.”
    • Defending the Heart – 498 words – He heard the door open at the top of the stairs and his body went stiff. Okay, one part went stiffer than the rest. He gritted his teeth and tried to will that away. But, he caught a whiff of cinnamon and knew he was a goner. If Xavier came even close to him right now, he’d lose it.
      Please come closer. Damn it. Even his thoughts were betraying him tonight.
    • Stay a Little Longer – 696 words – He hung up and couldn’t help wincing. Respect for his elders had been drilled into him throughout his childhood. It made it hard to stand up to his mother now. And he couldn’t help but wonder if maybe she was right. What good was he doing here anyway? Maybe it would be better for everyone if he just skipped town.
    • Not Meant to Be – 751 words – His face relaxed, but the wariness didn’t go away. He wouldn’t kiss her. So, she’d just have to take matters into her own hands. She turned until she was facing him, straddling his lap. “Denise,” he said, a warning in his voice.
  • Edit: Stained Blood – work through Story Toolkit & outline new scenes – made some more progress on the Toolkit
  • Plot: Loving the Devil – work through Story Toolkit – decided to set this one aside for right now.
  • Plot: Playing with Fire – work through Story Toolkit & continue exploring characters with Just Jot It prompts – making good progress on this. Through the character worksheets. And did 6 of the prompts this week
  • Side Projects – add 1500 words – 1789/1500 words
    • Midas’ Daughter – 535 words – His father let out a long breath. “Yeah, family can twist you up something awful.”
      Flip shot a glance at this father, but the older man only smiled. “Not you, my boy. You’ve never done anything but make me proud. Not all family is so easy, though.”
    • Dance with the Devil – 522 words – “Not everyone is here yet,” I told him. His gaze turned to me, and I could see the sympathy in his eyes. “No,” I said, taking a step back, knowing exactly what that meant. This couldn’t be happening.
    • Patrick & Sarah – 189 words – “No. Because you do not know what they will say about you if you set foot over this threshold.”“That’s not true. It just does not bother me.”
    • Tavin & Haiwee – 163 words – And chaos broke out. All three horses tossed their heads up, but only the other two reared, almost unseating their riders. Tavin kept control of his horse, turning the animal toward her. She saw one of the other men draw a gun and aim it in her direction.  *I also posted the first scene of this one for this week’s Fiction Friday
    • Roman – 247 words – “Fine,” he said, wanting to throw his arms in the air. “You’re fine. I get it. I won’t worry about you for another second.”She snorted. “I don’t believe that for a minute.”
    • Dougal & Shae – “Well, who would want flies anyway,” she retorted. “If vinegar keeps them away, I’ll keep dishing that out.”
  • Listen: Midnight Sacrifice(Melinda Leigh) & Lady Midnight(Cassandra Clare) – I finished Midnight Sacrifice(enjoyed)  and am a little over halfway through Lady Midnight.
  • Read: Finish Island of Glass(Nora Roberts), Harbor Lights(Sherryl Woods), Wild Irish Box set:books 2-4[I’ve already read book 1](Mari Carr), Of Fire and Stars(Audrey Coulthurst), Need Me(Tessa Bailey), Nothing Like Paris(Amy Jo Cousins), All Summer Long(Susan Mallery), & Love, Exes, and Ohs(Violet Duke) – I finished Island of Glass on Sunday(loved it) and Harbor Lights Tuesday night(liked). I also finished books 2-4 in the Wild Irish set(liked), Of Fire and Stars(loved), and Need Me yesterday while we were in the truck(enjoyed). I’m about 60% through Nothing Like Paris and really enjoying it. I’m hoping to at least finish All Summer Long today as well. Love, Exes, and Ohs will probably get moved to next week’s list.
  • Knitting: Finish Craigiecatt Hat – finished this onewp-1484500599247.jpg
  • Crochet: Giraffe Hat – didn’t start yet. Need to see if I can find yarn to use for this one.
  • A to Z challenge: Plots posts L-Z – didn’t get to these either.

I’ve made a good bit of progress even if I didn’t complete everything. Hope I can keep that up this week.

  • Write: Shoot for 10000 words
  • Edit: Stained Blood – finish Story Toolkit & outline new scenes
  • Plot: Playing with Fire – finish Story Toolkit & continue exploring characters with Just Jot It prompts. Outline if I get that far.
  • Side projects – add 2000 words(added new project to the list for possible submission to this year’s WUR)
  • Listen: Lady Midnight(Cassandra Clare), The Pale Dreamer(Samantha Shannon), & The Professor(Robert Bailey)
  • Read: Finish Nothing Like Paris(Amy Jo Cousins), All Summer Long(Susan Mallery), Love, Exes, and Ohs(Violet Duke), Sweet Cinderella(Penny Watson), Under a Painted Sky(Stacey Lee), Lady of the Star Wind(Veronica Scott), Shattered Past(Lindsay Buroker), Last Seen Leaving(Caleb Roehrig), & Burned(Sarah Morgan)
  • Crochet – Giraffe Hat
  • Loom – Meadow Moss Headband
  • A to Z Challenge: Plot – L-Z posts
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Cutting Away" (7)

  1. Overall, great progress, Fallon! I still haven’t gotten around to taking pictures of my new friend, but maybe this week, since life will be calmer.

    Your new cut is cute. I need mine long enough to play with while I’m thinking, but only that long. It’s thick, though, and I don’t wear hats, I’ll wait till spring to cut it.

    May this week prove even more productive!

    • It was pretty good progress. Trying to be better about not seeing not quite reaching the goal as a failure but progress made. Looking forward to seeing the pictures.
      I like to have just enough I can tug on when I’m anxious or thinking. But, it grows pretty fast. I don’t wear hats either(despite all the ones I make), but I usually have either a sweatshirt or coat with a hood on

      • It’s a great step to see any progress as not-failure, but it makes such a difference in morale.

        Pictures…that’s right. I was going to take pictures. Maybe tomorrow, when my eyes aren’t blurry!

  2. I love your hair! It looks great!

    Nice progress this week.

  3. Amazing progress this week. I enjoyed those snippets for each of your writing projects that reveals character and story so well. I think about working on more than one wip, but whenever I do, one wip seems to suffer. Thank you for visiting my page and encouraging my editing. Counting chapters rather than words will help! And re the hair cut. Nice. We’re traveling just now, so I may take the scissors to trim a little here and there. May the week ahead bring you more good words and storytelling.

    • Thanks, Beth. I’ve found this way works best for me. I’ve tried concentrating on one at a time, and it doesn’t usually go well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

