Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: “Far From It”

Welcome back to another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who loves to write. I’m still sharing from Dance with the Devil. This is a few paragraphs down from what I shared last week. Medusa is basically the club’s live-in medic. Flint was her husband.

“I’m fine,” I said, but I winced as I shifted on the bed.

“I’d say you’re far from it, Devil. You know, I heard the end of your conversation.”

I had to keep myself from wincing at that, too. What would she read into it? “What about it?”

To my surprise, she smiled at me. “I used to snap at my Flint like that, too, you know? Whenever I was afraid he was getting too close to my raw spots. It never stopped him, either.”

What’s going to happen next? Is Devil going to be fine? Will Devil and Hawk be okay? I’ll have more next week.

Comments on: "WeWriWa: “Far From It”" (20)

  1. I’d worry about a medic named Medusa, but she certainly is insightful! Love all the character names in this, btw.

  2. “It never stopped him, either.”

    I wonder if Devil picks up on the implication? Or will he ‘not hear’?

    I agree with Christina, I love the names they have taken

  3. Names are so important yet you’ve chosen some evil ones. Hmm. Interesting snippet.

    • Well, Medusa has quite an attitude that could turn men to stone. And Devil’s actually comes from him being a Marine, and their nickname of “Devil Dogs”.
      Thanks

  4. Great way to get another perspective on the situation – hope Devil is able/willing to listen.

  5. Nice little bit of insight she shared! Enjoyed the snippet…

  6. I’d worry about letting a medic named Medusa (which snakes for hair) give me an injection. She might use fangs instead of a hypodermic.

  7. Diane Burton said:

    I thought it was just me wondering about the names. LOL I figure you have a good reason. I like how you reveal just a bit about the MC. Nice job.

  8. nancygideon said:

    Nice! A little practical advice to put things in perspective.

  9. Wow, she knows what she’s doing. I don’t think he’s got much of a chance.

  10. Calling a lemon a lemon. Good advice!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

