Home of a mother, wife, writer

“You hold all the power here.”

Corrin shook her head. “You’re wrong. I’m barely holding myself together. I don’t know how you can think I have power over anything.”

Over him. He wished she knew just how much power she held over him. But, he wasn’t sure he could convince her. Until she saw how much strength she had, he wasn’t sure what he could do. “I’ve told you before, you can handle this. I’ll do whatever you need to help, but you can handle it.”

“Jer, I just…I can’t. Okay?”

He knew she still wasn’t ready to talk about whatever had happened, and he knew that. So, he backed right off. “I’ll be in my room. Let me know if you need anything, but like I’ve said before, this is your home too until you decide to leave.”

He didn’t wait for her response, closing his bedroom door before leaning against it. He dug his fingers into his hair. What was wrong with him? You’d think he’d get a clue by now. He jerked at the soft knock on his door and turned so he could open it. Not Corrin. He hadn’t really thought so. “What is it, Silas? Thought you were studying in your room.”

“You okay?” his best friend asked rather than answer Jeremiah’s own question.

“I don’t know what you mean,” Jeremiah said, moving off toward his bed. He had some coursework to get done himself for his class on Friday, especially since he had a shift at the fire station tomorrow. He’d thought working part-time at the station while finishing college would be the perfect balance. Instead it left him with little time for anything.

Silas moved to the side of his bed with him. “Jer, I know this isn’t easy for you.”

“She’s hurting. I can tell, but she won’t even tell me what happened. I just want to help.”

Silas settled onto the bed in front of him, their knees brushing. “Maybe it’s not something you can help with. And it’s not your fault if she doesn’t tell you. You’ve been doing all you can for her. She’ll open up when she’s ready.”

Silas settled his hand at the back of Jeremiah’s neck and leaned forward until their foreheads rested together. “It’ll be all right, Jer. Just give her some more time. Everything will be fine.”

Jeremiah just wished all it would take was time. But, he doubted it was that easy. Especially when being this close to Silas brought up just as many feelings as sitting with Corrin did. He just wished he knew what to do about it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today is Day 9 of Just Jot It January and the prompt was “power”. If you haven’t figured it out from some of the other pieces I’ve shared(or if you’ve missed them), there’s definitely something running between the three of them. Not sure how it’ll all work out for them in the end, but it should be fun finding out.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

