Home of a mother, wife, writer

On Wednesday I’d mentioned that I had a bit of a slow start to the week. It didn’t speed up all that much. But, on Thursday, I downloaded a template for a weekly schedule. It helps settle my mind to have everything written out. I’m being a little flexible with it. I may run over into one section with what I was doing in the one before, and I won’t worry too much about that. I’ve been color-coding(green for making progress during the time period/red for if I didn’t do it). You may notice workout if red for both days. A good bit of that is because I’m still fighting off this stupid cough(3 weeks now. It seems to be one that likes to hold on). I’m going to give it a full week before I say whether it’s working or not.

wp-1483873616599.jpg

Last Sunday, we took the kids sled-riding on a hill in town with some friends. They had quite a bit of fun. Though the boy had some trouble staying on his sled, and my husband had to do some diving to keep them from reaching the road.

wp-1483873563398.jpg wp-1483873579975.jpg wp-1483873590633.jpg wp-1483873598105.jpg

As for the progress I’ve made this week:

  • Write: 14000 words(2k on main project a day, 1k on others a week) – 7691/14000 – not quite what I was hoping, but I’m going to focus on time spent instead of an actual word count, though I’ll still have a target to shoot toward for the week.
    • In the Moonlight – 5389 words – She turned to look at me then laughed and nipped at my lower lip. “No pouting, Nola. I only said I might be in love. And is it any wonder, she is your ancestor.”
    • Crash and Burn – 1047 words – When she looked up, Stefan was rubbing his hand over his face. Then, he met her eyes again. “Was having us watch over you really so horrible?” he asked. “We only ever wanted to keep you safe.”
      “Being smothered by you to keep me safe was. And it’s one thing for my family to do that. It’s a completely different story for a…boyfriend to do it.”
      His eyes narrowed at her hesitation. He totally knew what she’d been planning to say. And maybe if her mother wasn’t at the table, she would have said lover instead. “So, someone wants to protect you, and you just push them away. Is that what you’re always going to do? I don’t know this guy, but if he wants you to be safe, he’s okay in my book.”
    • Defending the Heart – 909 words – “Flashback?” Piers asked softly when Xavier took his arm away.
      “I’m fine,” Xavier said. Which didn’t exactly answer Piers’ question. He wasn’t really surprised, though.
      “Does this happen often?”
      “That I have hot guys breaking into my apartment? I wish.”
      Piers knew Xavier was just trying to get a rise out of him, but he didn’t bite. “You know just what I meant, X.”
      “And I told you I’m fine. You surprised me, that’s all.” But, he’d turned his back so Piers could no longer see his eyes.
    • Stay a Little Longer – 199 word – He wanted to find Jess. Make sure she was okay after what had happened the night before. He hadn’t seen her again after the cops had arrived. Erik seemed sure she’d be fine, but he just didn’t know.
    • Not Meant to Be – 147 words – He hated even talking about this. But, she shifted so she could look up at him. “Tell me about it,” she said.
      But, he couldn’t. Not about that last time. About Adriane. It still hurt too much sometimes. And it had all been dragged up in the spring, when Maxton had gone after Carlos. And when he learned Tereza was actually his half-sister.
  • Stained Blood – start re-plotting once back from CP – I started the Story Toolkit for this. Hopefully I can get through it and get started on new scenes for this.
  • Loving the Devil – start Story Toolkit – working through this but didn’t get quite as far as I’d hoped to. This ones coming together kind of roughly, so I’m not sure if it will take off or not.
  • Playing with Fire – finish back stories, plot summary, start Story Toolkit – did all this and also write a few pieces for Just Jot It January with these characters. Most are before Playing with Fire begins, but some may come at the very start(though I don’t know if they’ll make it into the actual story
  • Side Projects – write 2000 words – 518/2000 words. My new schedule should give me time to work on these every day
    • Midas’ Daughter – 518 words – Flip took the reins from Calla, but he didn’t move as he watched Calla head across the yard. He’d seen that rich, entitled prick drive up. Prince Charming, yeah right. But, a part of him worried that’s just what Calla would see when she looked at him. Why wouldn’t she after all? He was everything Calla had been raised to think she was meant to have.
      Flip wasn’t any of that.
  • Listen: Miss Frost Solves a Cold Case(Kristen Painter) & She Can Scream(Melinda Leigh) – I listened to both of these, really enjoyed both. Also listened to Gone to Her Grave(Melinda Leigh) & Autumn in the Vineyard(Marina Adair). Also enjoyed both of these.
  • Read: The Hawk(Monica McCarty), Law Man(Kristen Ashley), Trade Me(Courtney Milan), Tied to Trouble(Megan Erickson), What Chris Wants(Lori Foster), Just You(Rebecca Phillips), & Island of Glass(Nora Roberts) – Took me all week to read The Hawk & Law Man, mostly because altogether they were about 900 pages. I did have some issues with Law Man(mostly the repetitive language, the internal dialogue then being repeated as actual dialogue, among some other things), but overall enjoyed the story. then, yesterday I spent most of the day reading and finished Trade Me(which I loved), Tied to Trouble(which I also loved), and What Chris Wants(which I liked b/c I wanted Chris to have his HEA finally, but, well, I had some issues. Particularly an author who usually writes detailed sex scenes, and this one only had two minor kisses and why? because it was m/m? I don’t know if it was intentional, but it just felt wrong). I couldn’t really get into Just You, so set it aside. I’m starting Island of Glass this morning.
  • Knit: Craigiecatt Hat – I’m about halfway through the body of this hat.wp-1483880500714.jpg
  • A to Z: Plot – L-Z – nothing more on this.

Ended up with a good bit of green and even some blue. Now, for next week:

  • Write: Shooting for a target of 10000 words this week
  • Edit: Stained Blood – work through Story Toolkit & outline new scenes
  • Plot: Loving the Devil – work through Story Toolkit
  • Plot: Playing with Fire – work through Story Toolkit & continue exploring characters with Just Jot It prompts
  • Side Projects – add 1500 words
  • Listen: Midnight Sacrifice(Melinda Leigh) & Lady Midnight(Cassandra Clare)
  • Read: Finish Island of Glass(Nora Roberts), Harbor Lights(Sherryl Woods), Wild Irish Box set:books 2-4[I’ve already read book 1](Mari Carr), Of Fire and Stars(Audrey Coulthurst), Need Me(Tessa Bailey), Nothing Like Paris(Amy Jo Cousins), All Summer Long(Susan Mallery), & Love, Exes, and Ohs(Violet Duke)
  • Knitting: Finish Craigiecatt Hat
  • Crochet: Giraffe Hat
  • A to Z challenge: Plots posts L-Z
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Schedule Shift" (7)

  1. Looks like you did well. Hopefully the new schedule helps. 🙂

  2. Looks like one of those weeks that was better than you thought, once you tallied it all up. I’m hoping to dive into The Story Toolkit as well this week, although I still plan to use some elements of Rock Your Plot, Snowflake, and The Writer’s Coloring Book as well, as I move through the process.

    May this week be even better for you.

    • I definitely made a lot of progress, even if I didn’t finish off a lot of goals. And I’m enjoying using the Just Jot it prompts to explore more of Jeremiah, Corrin, & Silas. 🙂
      So far so good, though only one day is done and I went a little off schedule since we went to get groceries and breakfast once the kids were off to school. But, I’d figured on that and adjusted so I didn’t lose too much time.

      • I’ve had the same feeling. I’ve been working on putting together all the planning and plotting for last year’s Kifo novels, as the beginning of my series bible. I didn’t realize till after I committed and had piles of pages filling up my workspace that it’s in my Round One goals, but not my January list…oh, well. It needed to be done, and it will be done, and, if something else doesn’t get done because I did it, I can move that to February.

        I hope you enjoyed your breakfast. Writing stuff will be squeezed into the spaces between the activities, this week!

      • Well, the diner we were going to go to was closed. didn’t realize they didn’t open on Mondays. 😦 So, we ended up going to McDonald’s. Not what I’d been looking forward to, but it wasn’t too bad. And yesterday, we spent a good 2 hour chunk moving our old bed into the girl’s room finally. So, I had to move some things around in my schedule. but, I still got a good bit done.

      • Well, that’s a bummer about breakfast; it wouldn’t be my first choice, either.And, while it’s maybe a little frustrating to shift a new schedule, I always feel great when I get one of those big jobs done!

        Hooray for that!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

